Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Oh My Goods!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Resource cost rules clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Blackett
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question about using a worker "sloppily"
When the rules state "you may skip one resource of your choice"

Does this mean that...
A. You reduce the cost by 1 resource type. Eg if you need 2 coal and 2 wood, you can choose to not pay the wood.
B. You reduce the cost by 1 resource unit. Eg if you need 2 coal and 2 wood, you can choose not pay 1 of the wood.

We have been playing with the 1st option, as it seemed to work best in the push your luck mechanic.

However, we have just got Longsdale on revolt, and the rules regarding the watchtower say "... That building requires 1 fewer resources (or if working sloppily, 2 fewer resources) to produce"

This now makes me think we've been playing it wrong.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Gordy
United States
Eden Prairie
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I am confident it is option B.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jessica
United States
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with Chris: I interpreted this to mean that 1 individual resource may be ignored, and not 1 resource type. It's still pretty tense with the push-your-luck element, particularly during those awful turns when producing sloppily might not happen.

Hope this helps: Best of luck, and enjoy!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Emanuel Fratila
Romania
Timisoara
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 7 of the rulebook (Mayfair Lookout edition)

8 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Blackett
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great, thanks for all of your help. I seem to have missed that example.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.