Recommend
60 
 Thumb up
 Hide
295 Posts
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [12] | 

Mythic Battles: Pantheon» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mythic Battles: Pantheon BGG's Official FAQ rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Raph Moimoi
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everybody,

here are the answers to the questions asked on the major gaming forums about Mythic Battles (BGG, The Overlord and TricTrac).

We chose to list questions by topics. They will answer to all questions you got here on the dcOnklin’s FAQ topic and many more grabbed here and there. There have been a gigantic work of gathering made by some of us, that’s why we wanted to address those questions before going to rework the rules. You'll find questions (Q: ) and answers (A:)
A FAQ is only a bandage and we want to reword large parts of the rules to make them perfect… and there’s a lot of work. We hope this FAQ won’t last and you’ll be able to play with reworked rules and reworked dashboards in some time. Monolith also hired a professional proofreader.

We’d like to thank Erwan, Tony and Emmanuel from Monolith for their help, Garshell for his proofreading and to those of you who asked questions to make the game go on ! (Tony and Emmanuel are the Hera and Hephaestus game designers)

This is only the beginning : play with these new rulings, give us feedback about the units played this way. As there will be a new KS to make a reprint of the game, we’ll have a chance to make some balance before it goes to production.

UrShulgi & Pikaraph

-------------------------------------------

Mythic Battles: Pantheon BGG's Official FAQ


This post will take care about all questions except those about units which will be addressed in the 2nd post of this thread arrrh

Modifiers

Q: Do stat bonuses from different friendly units but same Talent stack?
E.g. "Double Bolster".
A: Yes they stack, as long as it fits the maximum bonus of the “effective offence/defence” rule p19.

Q: Troops Modifier
Some Troops have a special rule that states the unit gets +1 Attack per miniature. How does this interact with the "not greater than +2" modifier limitation from pg 19 of rules?
A: Special rules (troops and divinity cards) are an alteration of the original stats, and as such are not considered as a modifier.


Movement

Q: How do flying units interact with Impassable boundaries?
How many movement points would a flying unit need to cross a wall (if they even can)?
A: non-flying units cannot move through this boundary. This boundary blocks any line of sight, except those from flying units adjacent to this boundary.

Q: Can you run & climb?
Complex Action rules indicate not, but Climb rules mentions run explicitly. Talent description takes priority over core rules ?
A: You cannot run and climb : a unit that is taking a complex action is treated as having no talents at all.

Q: Must powers that "move" a unit obey all walk rules? Do you have to follow boundary rules for Mighty Throw?
Several powers mention ways to move a unit (Charge, Divine Storm) e.g. "Move up to 2 areas". For the "move", must they follow walk rules (even though it is not described as a walk action), or does this "move" suspend restrictions like a full area, lava, etc? Rules imply must have movement.
A: Yes, any effect (power or anything else) that moves a unit follows all walk rules applied to this unit, unless specified otherwise.


Troops

Q: Can a Troop that has been deployed be redeployed using their Activation Card?
A: No, recall manoeuvre is the only way to get them back on the board.

Q: Can troops be recalled the turn they are deployed?
A: English rules are the good ones. You can’t recall troops the turn they are deployed.

Q: It seems the troops special rules that change an attack to an Area attack are sometimes explicitly non- mandatory (Mechanical Warriors), sometimes not (Toxotai)...should they all be the same or was this done on purpose?
A: Assume this is correct as written.

Q: Troops that are tied to a Hero or a God
There are some Troops that have Recruitement cards (Satyrs, Lava Golems) but they may only be recruited by a specific unit. What should we do with these Recruitment card ? Trash them ?
A: These cards should not be used as these troops may only be played when a specific God or Hero is in the recruitment pool and their cost is 0 RP.


Combat

Q: When exactly in the Combat Sequence (pg 16, Player Aid) does Evade happen?
This matters if a flying unit in my army evades an area attack from another of my units. Who selects the alternate target? Me or my opponent?
A: Between the “choose a target” phase and the “declare any guard” one.

Q: Evade is diefferent in english and in french, which is the right one ?
A: English version is the good one.

Q: When a unit has a power that states it cannot be attacked, does it prevent any opponent from attacking the area of this unit with an Area attack (Aphrodite, Apollo...) ? Or is it possible to attack the other units in the area except the one that cannot be attacked ?
A: Area attack targets all units in an area, and then resolves separate combat sequences, against each target in the area, one at a time.
In the case of Apollo power, the power would prevent you from targeting him, but it wouldn’t prevent you from targeting other units and resolving the other combat sequences.
In Aphrodite’s case, you simply would have to pay an Art of War card or she would ignore the area attack.


Q: Range Zero Attack on Full Area: Retaliation
If a unit is attacked via the "full area = range 0 or 1" rule, can the target unit retaliate against the attacking unit in the adjacent area?
A: Yes, you can retaliate. When a unit chooses to attack in a full area it is considered “as if they were in the target’s own area (range 0), all normal rules for a range 0 attack apply. In normal rules, a unit can only relatiate if it is the target of a range 0 attack. Which she is per the rules.

Q: Range Zero Attack on Full Area: Movement. There are also a few spots on a couple of maps where the shape of the areas makes it such that two adjacent areas can still have an obstacle area between them when drawing line of sight. Was this intended?
In order to use the "full area = range 0 or 1" rule while targeting, must you have the movement to be able to move into the area (but can't because it is full), OR is the ability to attack not dependent on your move (ie you are adjacent but don't have enough remaining movement to reach it)?
A: It’s not dependent on your move (you don’t have to be able to move into this area), or you initial ability to go there. Still, you need to have a line of sight on the full area in which you want to attack, you can’t if there’s an obstacle, as on some maps’ aeras.

Q: What is a "Range 1+" attack?
A: Any attack that states a Range X+ means that this attack cannot target an area closer than X areas.

Q: Can I Evade with more than one unit in a turn?
A: As written page 24 in Manoeuvres’ chapter, “each manoeuvre can only be bought once per turn per player” (exception being powers, with which you can buy a manoeuvre once per turn for each different power), which means only one “evade” manoeuvre per turn per player, whichever your number of flying units is.


Cards

Q: Does "search" trigger a "draw"?
If a search action allows for a search of more cards than are left in the deck, at what point is the deck refresh triggered?
A: When a player searches a card and they cannot draw any card, they have to shuffle their discard pile.
Each time there’s an interaction with an empty deck, the corresponding discard pile should be shuffled.


Q: Are all discarded cards "public knowledge"?
A: Yes they are. It’s also a good thing to allow it from a tactical point of view as much as to limit cheating (which are both really important for competitive play).

Q: Is it allowed to search for a card in the deck we know we won’t find ? It may make shuffle the deck.
A: The player doesn’t say which card they are searching for, but they have to take one card no matter what.
Effects that may make this happen will be modified to avoid this (see Leader).


Q: Is healing by removing an Omphalos card also a one-time thing per turn?
A: No, it can be done as many time as you wish during a turn.


Boundaries

Q: Are boundaries terrain effets ?
A: No, boundaries are not terrain effects, they must be followed by any units, no matter their type.

Q: Are walls tied to their surrounding impassible boundaries ?
A: Walls are boundaries (each wall is merged with the impassible boundary around it).

Q: How impassable boundaries should be played ?
A: Units cannot move through impassable boundaries except flying units.
An impassable boundary is an obstacle (it blocks LOS), except LOS from flying units being adjacent to this boundary.


Q: Tartarus Cage’s wall: French rules state monsters and divinities "may never walk through this boundary" while english rules only prevent them from walking and running.
Which is the right one ?
A: monsters and divinities cannot move through this boundary.As always, the unit has to follow the walk normal rules.

**UPDATE**
Q: Highs boundary: What exactly does "behind the arrowhead" mean? What exactly does "in front of the arrowhead" mean?
A: Highs is not a boundary, it is a boundary modifier, so it comes in addition to the basic boundary properties the arrow is laid on.
When a boundary wears an arrow, non-flying Units adjacent to this boundary gain +1 range, ignore obstacles when determining whether a target is visible or not and gain +1 offence when attacking at Range 1+ if tracing a line of sight crossing this boundary in the direction of its arrowhead.

**UPDATE**

Maps

Q: Labyrinth map : is there a roof ?
A: No. It would have been written if it would have been the case.

Q: Thermopyles map : how the impassible boundary works ?
A: the big cliff behind the red line is not a zone, this is only art, ignore it when playing.

Q: Lava maps : can an omphalos be dropped in lava?
A: Yes it may happen… and if it does, it becomes an "unclaimable" omphalos for non-flying units and non-fireproof units. Some talents and powers may help to get these omphalos (like Gem Collector)...


Terrain effects

Rift
Q: What is the rule for River Styx movement through rift?
In English rules, "Each rift area costs 2 of the unit’s movement to enter." which precludes some divinities from crossing. But French rules reportedly say "costs 1 extra to move through"?
A: The rule is “Divinities and monsters cannot end their activation in this area. They may only move into a rift area along the path of skulls, and only if they are able to leave in the same activation by spending enough move points to move through the rift.”

Swamp
Q: What is the effect for Swamp?
Player Aid says Walk or Run reduced to 1. Rulebook says cannot Walk, Run max is 1, must stop and end activation when entering. Which is correct?
A: The rulebook is correct : you cannot Walk, Run max is 1, must stop and end activation when entering.

Lava
Q: which are the correct Lava rules ?
BoW video shows units "jumping" over the Lava, but rules don't mention that and just say "if a unit enters an area of dormant lava, they become the target of a 5 dice attack". Has the rule changed and this omission was done on purpose?
A:
Dormant Lava rules:
• no unit may end their movement in Dormant Lava,
• when you move one of your units through dormant lava, you choose in which adjacent non-lava area your unit goes without resolving the 5 dice Lava attack,
• when your unit is thrown into any lava area, you choose into which adjacent non-lava area it falls back after resolving the 5 dice Lava attack.

Erupting Lava rules:
• no unit may enter Erupting Lava by its own means,
• when your unit is thrown into an Erupting lava area, you choose into which adjacent non-lava area it falls back after resolving the 7 dice Lava attack.


Rocks
Q: Are Rocks 3D elements like columns and trees ?
A: Rocks are 3D elements, that materialize the blocking effect of the terrain, they cannot be removed by any means, it will be specified on any power that would be wrong about that.

Q: Do you get the rocks bonus to attack at range 0 on a rock ?
A: No, the rocks rules becomes this : “Terrain effect: units cannot walk, run, or deploy into a rock. Units in this area gain +1 range, they ignore obstacles when determining whether a target is visible or not and they gain +1 offence when attacking at Range 1+.”

Q: Is it possible to attack a unit in a full Rock area even if the attacker does not have the Climb talent ?
A: Yes, nothing prevents this from happening in the rule.

Slopes
Q: Are every areas around the slopes affected by the slopes bonus ?
A: The bonus provided is only taken into account when targeting an area down the slope.


Recruitment

Q: Can you elect to recruit an omphalos card for 1RP even if there are still troops available to recruit?
A: No, the rule is crystal clear about that, doing otherwise would break the balance of the recruitment phase.


Talents

Mighty Throw (+ impossible movement + omphalos dropping)
Q: If a unit is the target of a successful mighty throw, but the move can't happen (either because there is no valid area or the unit has an immunity like Hermes), does she still drop a claimed omphalos?
A: Yes, even if the thrown unit cannot be moved to another area, they drop their omphalos.

Leader
Q : Is it possible to search for a card that will not be found in the deck ?
A: No. The talent is changed to this :
“At the end of this unit’s activation, its owner may choose a friendly unit of troops in the same area as the Leader.
The friendly unit’s owner may search their deck for 1 activation card of that unit if there is any remaining in their deck, show it to everybody and add it to their hand.
If the friendly unit belongs to the active player then it may be activated immediately by discarding one of its activation cards. This Leader activation counts towards the maximum number of unit activations allowed for this turn. This activation does not require an art of war card to be discarded. If the friendly unit does not belong to the active player then it may be activated immediately by discarding one of its activation cards. This Leader activation counts towards the maximum number of unit activations allowed for this turn. This activation does not require an art of war card to be discarded.”



Powers

Q: Are powers mandatory? How do we know if a power is mandatory?
Per RB page 24, Powers are Maneuvers and Maneuvers are chosen and paid for by the controlling player. How do we officially identify which of these "Maneuvers" are not a choice and are indeed mandatory.
A: Any Power that triggers when a situation happens are mandatory.

Q: Is it allowed to modifiy a Power stat with a terrain modifier ?
A: Powers that use an X value or a specific value cannot be modified by a terrain modifier ou boundary modifier. Powers that use a standard stat value may be modified.

Questions around Petrify
Q: What does "cannot use any powers" mean (ie Petrify)?
Does this includes all power types, including permanent powers? For example would a petrified Phoenix not be able to use "Out of the Ashes".?
A: All powers means ALL powers. A token is removed after the unit has been destroyed, so it cannot use its powers triggered when the unit is destroyed.
For example, any power owned by a unit that is petrified cannot trigger due to the Petrify ruling : when the unit is destroyed it cannot trigger their specific power (Phoenix, Sisyphus). So you have to quickly remove the Petrify token...


Q: Does a petrified unit still stop an enemy movement entering its area ?
A: Yes.

Q: Does a petrified unit still blocks LOS ?
A: Yes, this is still an obstacle.

Q: For Permanent powers which cost an Aow (eg Atalanta's Dodge), can it be used only once, or can it be used multiple times as long as the Aow is paid?
Question arises because powers are usually only usable once per turn.
A: The one time per turn limit only affects active powers and special attacks. Any other power is triggered when the corresponding situation arises, there’s no limitation.

Q: When can you use Active Powers (Hand symbol)?
A: It can be used in addition to your 2 Simple Actions (so you still couldn't do them if you chose Complex Actions) based on prerequisites and timing as indicated in the wording. If no timing given, active player decides the order.

Q: Special Attack with no Value
Some Special Attacks don't have a value in the black box in the stat line. What do we use for the X in the power description?
A: If there is no specific attack value, you use its basic attack value depending on its actual vitality.



Tokens

Q: Are a unit's tokens removed from other units when the unit is destroyed or removed?
eg. if Medusa is destroyed do petrified units lose the token?
A: When a unit is destroyed, any token they have placed on any other unit or on the board stays where it is, unless specified otherwise.

Q: Are tokens removed from a unit when it is destroyed if it resurrects (Phoenix, Sisyphus)?
A: When a unit is destroyed, any token on it is returned to its owner’s pool after resolving the destruction.

Q: Do tokens "stack"? More specifically can you have multiple tokens (making the effect harder to get rid of)? If you can, do you count the effects for each (making it worse)?
Some powers (eg Echidna’s Poison) seem ambiguous as to whether they stack or not.
A: If nothing is specified, a unit can receive more than one token of the same type. The stacking effect will be explained if it happens.


Scenarios

Q: What happens when a Divinity dies in free-for-all skirmish?
A: In free for all, the last Divinity standing or the one absorbing its 4th omphalos wins the game. Units from a destroyed Divinity’s owner are immediately removed from the board.

Q: What happens when a Divinity dies in 2v2?
A: In 2vs2, the first god dying ends the game.

Q: For purposes of recall, are units that start on the board due to scenario considered as already having been deployed?
A: Yes, they are considered as already having been deployed.

Q: Rescue the Princess!
A: It should obviously include "one sacrifice per monster turn limit" in the text.
You cannot walk through walls, treat the wall as impassable boundary as normal.


Q: At Low Boil, fixing bugs
A:
• Page 20, right column, Card Effects: Sentence is cut off. Should read: “Omphalos: the active player’s god suffers 1 wound.”
• Page 22, bottom of left col, under blue text. Should read in black: "A special rule controls the Hydra."


Q: Prisoners of Tartarus
A: The prisoners cannot activate and cannot free themselves. See the final rule on liberating the prisoners.

Q: Ships
A: Flying units cannot deploy on ships. Ships rules say “ships can transport non-flying units” (but no aquatic/flying units) and also that “non-flying, non-aquatic units” can board a ship.

Q: Rise of the Titans Scenario 1
Where are the Spartans on Athena's team placed in this scenario? They don't appear on the page 4 map.
A: Spartans begin with Leonidas.
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raph Moimoi
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
UNITS



Acamas
Q: Molten Metal : in english, this power allows to attack every other non-flying units.
In french, it allows to attack every other units and Guard cannot be used.
A: This power allows to attack every other non-flying units and Guard cannot be used.

Andromeda
Q: In english, the power "Andromeda's Sacrifice" costs 1 AoW card, in french it's free.
A: French is the correct one.

Aphrodite
Q: For Irresistible, if she is guarded does the attacker still lose an AoW card? Yes, it seems the "wishes to attack" is the same as "attacks".
A: Yes, the attacker has to spend an AoW card even if the target is later modified by guard.

Q: Revenge power in french : If a unit that caused damage to Aphrodite already has a Revenge token : does it get another one ? (cumulative ?)
A: The correct rule is the english one, where you cannot cumulate Revenge tokens.

Apollo
Q: Golden Arrows : What is the X value ?
A: there have been a mistake here, the correct attack values are : 9 to 6 PV x= 6 dice, and 5 to 3 PV x=5 dice.

Arachne
Q: For multiple web tokens, can BOTH tokens be damaged in the same attack OR does it take 2 rounds of attacking to remove them? If a friendly unit makes an area attack in this area, does this also attack the web tokens ?
A: Each attack targets only 1 token at a time. Area attacks cannot target those tokens.

Q: If Archne only has 1 token left, does she place it on her target ?
A: Yes, she places up to 2 tokens.

Ares
Q: May he do both of his Active Powers on the same activation?
A: Yes, but you have to resolve Frenzy before Ares’ Wrath because Frenzy pushes back the end of the activation until resolved.

Q: May he choose to walk 0 areas for Frenzy ?
A: Yes, the walk is a normal walk action and it can be up to his movement stat (so a 0 area move is correct).

Artemis
Q: Leader of the Pack : does this power also affects Artemis ?
A: No, the dashboard should state “except Artemis”.

Q: Golden Bow : “make a Range 1+ attack with  +1 offence, this attack ignores obstacles.” May this attack be modified by terrain effects ?
A: Yes, this attack uses the normal offence stat and possible modifiers, this is not a specific value tied to the power. This attack also prevents the target from making an Evade manoeuvre.

Atalanta
Q: May she count the range of a full area as 1, as per the rules on page 17 ? If this is the case, could she make her ranged attack from the rock, take a 0 distance walk action, and then make a second attack from the rock, now counting the full adjacent area as being at range 0 ?
A: The 3rd action has to be an attack with Atalanta being in the target’s zone or an adjacent zone if the target is in a full area (the dashboard will of course be fixed).
If she attacks from a rock, she does not get the +1 offence bonus for her 3rd action because it is a range 0 attack, and range 0 attacks do not gain a +1 bonus when attacking from rocks.


Atlas
Q: Fists of the Titan : is Atlas also concerned by his own power ?
A: No, the second part of the power does not affect Atlas himself.

Autolycus
Q: Does King of Thieves omphalos claiming still need to be played as an action even though it doesn't cost an action (eg end walk before claiming) or does it act like omphalos dropping where you can do it at any time (eg walk, claim, finish walk)?
A: It doesn’t count as a action for actions’ limit of the turn but it’s still an action, so he can’t claim during an other action (walk, run …)

Charybdis
Q:For the purposes of powers affecting range (eg, Hecate's Black Moon), is Abyssal Maw considered to be a range +1 attack?
A: This attack doesn’t state any range, so it cannot be modified by an effect that modifies range.

Q: Charybdis is missing the "Huge" talent on the dashboard's English side. Was this a misprint?
A: Yes Charybdis should have the Huge talent.

Q: Can Charybdis (or any unit with "Huge") move into an area (not using Groundswell) with units since Huge implies that that unit takes up the whole area? If not, if it runs into an area (while Huge is negated due to the use of a complex action) what happens when the Huge reactivates at the end of the units activation?
A: Units with the Huge talent cannot run (this talent will be modified). So Charybdis may only move with its Groundswell power, so she may never collect omphalos.

Q: Does this power destroy Rocks 3D objects ?
A: No, this power only removes Columns and Trees.

Chimera
Q: Is it possible for this unit to use both of its powers during the same turn ?
A: Yes, provided each power is entirely resolved before resolving the other.

Chiron
Q: English version of Chiron's Wisdom is an active power.
French version is a passive power. Which is the correct version ?
A: This is an active power.

Q: Wisdom says "you may choose to draw a second card from your deck" : I think it may mislead players as you draw 1 card at the beginning of your turn, not at the beginning of an activation.
It would be clearer to say "At the beginning of Chiron's activation, you may draw 1 card".
A: This text will be changed to “At the beginning of Chiron's activation, you may draw 1 card. If you do, then each player may search their discard pile for an AoW card and add it to their hand.”

Diomedes
Q: Doom of the Gods is a permanent power in english but is a passive power in french.
A: This is a permanent power.

Echidna
Q: Should Echidna’s Poison be worded like "[...] If a unit has 1 or more Echidna’s Poison Tokens [...]"? Seems that was the intent.
A: Yes, the wording should be this one : “When a unit with at least 1 Poison token activates, it immediately suffers a 5 dice attack.”

Q: Is it possible to remove more than 1 token per turn ?
A: No, the dashboard is clear about that.

Echo
Q: Echo is missing “target cannot retaliate against this attack” ; should she have it ?
A: Yes, it should state “target cannot retaliate against this attack”.

Eurytion

Q: If Eurytion uses his Taunt power, is it possible for his owner to declare a Guard for this attack ?
A: Yes, Eurytion may be guarded, nothing limits this.

Q: Is it possible to use Taunt on an enemy unit unable to attack Eurytion ? If this is the case how to handle this ?
A: The Taunt power becomes : ”At the beginning of any enemy unit’s activation in Eurytion’s surroundings, if this unit would be able to attack Eurytion through a movement or not, Eurytion’s owner may choose whether the active unit acts normally or if it must attack Eurytion.
If the active unit is forced to attack Eurytion, it may not use its talents or powers during all of its activation.” (Eurytion may be guarded normally)


Gaïa
Q: in english : movement is reduced to 1,
in french : movement is reduced by 1.
Which is the right one ?
A: The movement is reduced to 1.

Geryon
Q: Is Geryon's Shepherd essentially just Guard or is there some nuance of difference? Seems just like Guard.
A: This power is an upgraded Guard which works also in adjacent areas. Geryon has to be in range to trigger this power.

Giant Spiders
Q: Was this an oversight on the devs' part, or was it intentional for them to not have climb at all for balance purposes?
A: Spiders should have the Climb talent, it will be changed on their Troop card.

Graeae
Q: If a monster is standing in the surroundings of Graeae and guards a non-monster, must the attacker discard an art of war card to attack the guard (the monster)?
A: Yes, the target changes thanks to the Guard talent.

Q: Same question as Sisyphus, but about the eye. Does claiming the eye mean she can't claim an omphalos? Will she drop the eye if Mighty Thrown, etc. Needs official confirmation.
A: Every unit can collect an omphalos and uses the same rules. Graeae and Sisyphus may collect other elements but this does not change their ability to get omphalos. Their special token is played as if they were omphalos, so they cannot claim an omphalos if they already claimed their token, same thing for any unit that claimed the Eye of the Graeae, and it would drop as an Omphalos would with Mighty Throw.

Hermes
Q: Is it possible to run during Hermes' Celerity?
A: Run action prevents from using passive powers, so Hermes’ Célerity is disabled here.
The power should state “Hermes ignores all talent and power that either modify his walk actions or move him in any way”.


Infernal Artillerymen
Q: Special rule : 2+ (french version) or 3+ (english version) ?
A: the special rule is enabled with 2+ miniatures on the board.

Leonidas
Q: The last sentence of the Wall of Shields power: "It is declared instead of Guard." Leonidas must choose one of either Guard or Wall of Shields, never both?
A: The dashboard is correct.

Marsyas
Q: What about Marsyas’ Challenge and Hermes’ Célerity? What’s happening?
A: Marsyas’s Challenge does not alter the move ability of any unit, nor it moves a unit, it only forces it to move towards Marsyas, like Eurytion’s Taunt, and only if it didn't pay to ignore it.

Medea
Q: Does Stun need to inflict at least 1 wound to give a token to the target ?
Periphetes states clearly "regardless of the outcome", so Stun seems to have an ambiguity.
A: This attack has to inflict at least 1 Wound to be able to place a Stun token.

Minotaur
Q: Charge (for Minotaur or any unit with Charge, like Cholchidian Bull and Typhon’s Tempest) Can the charging monster "backtrack"?
A: You can’t, it would look more like two charges than a “Charge”.

Q: Can he charge across a rift?
A: No, Charge is in fact considered as a move of 2 simple actions. He should run to pass across the rift.

Q: Can he charge through a full area?
A: He cannot charge through a full area due to movement rules.

Q: The Minotaur's power lets you re-roll dice that you just rolled. it does not allow you to add extra dice. So, if you've previously set aside a dice, then it's not available for re-rolling.
A: That’s correct.


Odysseus
Q: Subterfuge: May Odysseus be activated for free as a 2nd activation ?
A: Yes.

Q: Subterfuge: Do opponents get the benefits of this power being in the same area ?
A: No, the power should be modified to restrict it to friendly units.

Oedipus
Q: English version of The Answer is a passive power, french version is a special attack.
A: It’s a passive power.

Orion
Q: The omission of "may" for Hunter seems intentional.
A: Orion must re-roll blanks, it’s mandatory (he’s a monster hunter).

Orpheus
Q: May Orpheus be targeted by his Rapture power ?
A: No, the power should state “Orpheus cannot receive a Rapture token”.

Pan
Q: For Divine Shepherd, when does the recall occur...immediately or during normal Recall (step D1)? Can it be used on an activation in which Pan takes a complex action?
A: This power is triggered as an active power, this does not count as the allowed recall for this turn, but it follows the Recall rules. For example Pan being the first activated unit may recall Satyrs, then Satyrs may be the second activated unit of the active player.

Paris
Q: Judgment of Paris is a passive power, but it can only be played "at the end of Paris' activation", so why is this power not an active one ?? What's the point ?
A: This is a passive power : it can be activated even if Paris is in the water.

Perseus
Q: Does his Monster Hunter power prevent him from Guarding Special Attacks?
A: Yes, because to guard he would need to want to be affected by it, which he can’t.

Q: Is Perseus immune to area attacks by monsters?
A: Yes. It doesn’t prevent aera attacks from happening, just preventing him from being affected.

Phoenix
Q: After Phoenix is destroyed but before using Out of Ashes, may its Activation Cards be used towards being played as Art of War cards like a normal destroyed unit's can?
A: As long as a unit is destroyed, its activation cards can be discarded in this way.

Poseidon

Q: Can Poseidon move himself with divine storm? It says any unit in his area...
A: No he can’t. It will be specified on his dashboard.

Sisyphus
Q: Seems pretty clear the interpretation is: "he can manipulate the rock like an omphalos, but it's not an omphalos so he can claim both omphalos and rock." Needs official confirmation.
A: No, Sisyphus cannot claim an omphalos if he has collected the rock token. The rock token is treated as an omphalos for purposes of claiming and dropping: if he has claimed a rock token it is as he would have claimed an omphalos, he has no more room to claim an omphalos, but he could drop his rock to claim omphalos if he want to.

Talos
Q: Scorching Metal : after a unit has resolved an attack against Talos, it immediately suffers a 5 dice attack against which they cannot retaliate. Scorching Metal does not count as Talos' retaliation. What’s the max range?
A: This attack is at Range 0.

Theseus
Q: Does Ariane's Thread let him walk 1 area even if the attacking unit is in his area and has Block? Seems yes since Power trumps Talent. Need confirmation.
A: The power trumps any talent.

Typhon
Q: For Psychopath, does the "start of activation walk toward the closet unit and attack it" count as his two simple actions? or does he still get to do step B3? Seems Psychopath should not cost the simple actions.
A: The Psychopath power counts as 2 simple actions.


Divinity Cards


Q: How does the the stat boosts from divinity cards interact with the rules capping the bonus to +2 ?
A: Divinity cards’ boosts are special rules like those of troops, as an alteration of the original stats, they’re not considered as a modifier.

Helios’ Divinity card
Q: Shouldn't the text for Helios divinity card be "Instead of drawing a card at the beginning of your turn, you can choose any card from your deck. [...]" ?
A:  Correct text is “instead of drawing a card at the beginning of your turn, you can choose to “search for a card” for free. It does not count as the “search for a card” manoeuvre of the turn (you still may pay for the normal one).

Aphrodite’s Divinity card
Q: The second effect of Aphrodite's divinity card states that each unit in Aphrodite's area gets the Guardian talent, it seems that it means that Aphrodite also get Guardian.
A:  She also gets Guardian. “ A unit that is not friendly is an enemy unit. A unit is always friendly to itself”.(p27) The card say “All friendly units in Aphrodite's area gain Guard”, so she’s included.

Typhon’s Divinity card
Q: Is this card effect missing “target cannot retaliate against this attack” : should he have it ?
A: This effect becomes : “When Typhon absorbs his 3rd omphalos, resolve an area attack in each area in his surroundings which also attacks Typhon.”

---------------------------

That's all for now ! Have fun !
  • [+] Dice rolls
Raph Moimoi
France
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
reserved 2
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Conklin
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Awesome!

We appreciate the work that's gone into this and the effort to get it out as soon as possible...

Are you taking further questions/clarifications requests in this thread? There's a couple things missing and a couple I'm still scratching my head about...
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andi Nurgle
Germany
flag msg tools
Great!

Now I just have to go over to my computer and make this into a pdf for my iPad.

Thumbs up!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Samuel Delerme
France
paris
Unspecified
flag msg tools
I don't understand the answer

Q: How do flying units interact with Impassable boundaries?
How many movement points would a flying unit need to cross a wall (if they even can)?
A: non-flying units cannot move through this boundary. This boundary blocks any line of sight, except those from flying units adjacent to this boundary.

Shouldn't it be "flying units" insteand of "non-flying units" as the first words of the answers?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustavo Sanchez
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Thank you for this!

In my opinion, area attacks not affecting Arachne's webs make her VERY powerful. I think area attacks should be able to target the webs.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Samuel Delerme
France
paris
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Sorry if it isn't the right place to ask but I don't know if I can still ask in the general FAQ questions.
I had hoped you would tell if the Aegisthe power "Assassin"prevented opponents from using "initiative" (I mean that, since initiative against him would somewhat change his attack, it wouldn't allow to counter-attack first against him, which would be fitting for an assassin)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andi Nurgle
Germany
flag msg tools
delerme wrote:
I don't understand the answer

Q: How do flying units interact with Impassable boundaries?
How many movement points would a flying unit need to cross a wall (if they even can)?
A: non-flying units cannot move through this boundary. This boundary blocks any line of sight, except those from flying units adjacent to this boundary.

Shouldn't it be "flying units" insteand of "non-flying units" as the first words of the answers?

No, because flying units can move through impassable boundaries according to the faq.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrone
Philippines
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Many thanks Gilles, Raph, and the Monolith team for the crazy awesome work!
Just a couple of questions though:

ORION'S HUNTER POWER:
Doesn't forcing him to reroll blanks make him weaker against monsters? Specifically, he cannot mighty throw them anymore for strategic purposes. For example, if a monster is carrying an omphalos, Orion might opt to mighty throw it first instead of dealing more damage if the monster cannot be killed during that attack. Forcing him to reroll blanks against monsters mean his only choice is to kill them first, which again, isn't always ideal especially if they are hard to kill and you are at a disadvantage for as long as they are in that area (ex. Need to remove a monster from blocking an area, need to remove a monster to prevent guard, need to remove a monster to drop an omphalos).

PETRIFY ON SISYPHUS:
If petrify would totally prevent any power from activating, does this mean a petrified Sisyphus can be permanently destroyed? If so, wouldn't Sisyphus turn into an AOW gold mine (4 AOW + 1.5 AOW) once killed? This would also remove the discard penalty that comes with Sisyphus for providing so many AOW cards for a very low RP cost, which would again be good to Sisyphus' owner.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Jansson
Sweden
Trollhättan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Excellent! Glad to have official rulings on all of these issues, even though I may not agree on everything.

I really like the Troop bonuses getting counted separate to other bonuses and that Autolycus cannot pick up Omphalos on the fly. I guess this means that all 'Free Actions' are now defined like this? So Omphalos can not be dropped on the fly either?

I have a thought on Leader. As it stands it is feeling very underpowered unless paired with a ranged Leader and ranged Troops that can stay together. How about changing it to be able to trigger during the turn instead and letting the chosen Troop be activated without the AoW card after the Leaders activation is complete.
For example:
Leonidas starts his activation in the same area as (or adjacent to) the Spartans. He triggers Leader and finds a Spartan Activation card, then moves and attacks.
Next activation Spartans activate without discarding an AoW card. Moves and attacks.
This would let them use his Bolster if they move to his area and it would feel much more thematic by letting the Leader actually lead the charge on the enemy. Please take this for consideration.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andi Nurgle
Germany
flag msg tools
One thing I find confusing is, that it is mentioned, that for example Satyrs can only be recruited with Pan.
But it doesn‘t say that on the dash board (same with the hounds of Artemis), like it does on Arachne or Circe.
Where does it say I cannot recruit the Satyrs when Pan is nit in play?

Edit: Another one

Omphalos in lava becomes unclaimable, unless the unit is fireproof or flying. I assume gem collectors cannot grab into the lava.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrone
Philippines
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Evil_X wrote:
...
Leonidas starts his activation in the same area as (or adjacent to) the Spartans. He triggers Leader and finds a Spartan Activation card, then moves and attacks.
Next activation Spartans activate without discarding an AoW card. Moves and attacks.
This would let them use his Bolster if they move to his area and it would feel much more thematic by letting the Leader actually lead the charge on the enemy. Please take this for consideration.


From my understanding, this is already how leader works based on the FAQ:

1) Leonidas activates, moves and attacks as normal.
2) At the end of Leoniads' activation, Leader kicks in. Player may then search for a troop activation card of a troop in Leonodas' area.
3) Player then activates a troop in Leonidas' area without the need for an AOW card. This counts as a second activaion.

Am I missing something? Or are you suggesting that troops in adjacent territories be affected by leader as well (which I agree)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken M
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Thanks for posting!
What happens if an enemy unit is in the rift? Does this stop the monster/divinity movement?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrone
Philippines
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nurgle23 wrote:
One thing I find confusing is, that it is mentioned, that for example Satyrs can only be recruited with Pan.
But it doesn‘t say that on the dash board (same with the hounds of Artemis), like it does on Arachne or Circe.
Where does it say I cannot recruit the Satyrs when Pan is nit in play?


This FAQ makes the neccessary corrections and overrides whatever is written on the dashboards/ rulebook/ quickstart guide/ etc. So now, we follow all of what is written here instead.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Jansson
Sweden
Trollhättan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Turonee wrote:
Evil_X wrote:
...
Leonidas starts his activation in the same area as (or adjacent to) the Spartans. He triggers Leader and finds a Spartan Activation card, then moves and attacks.
Next activation Spartans activate without discarding an AoW card. Moves and attacks.
This would let them use his Bolster if they move to his area and it would feel much more thematic by letting the Leader actually lead the charge on the enemy. Please take this for consideration.


From my understanding, this is already how leader works based on the FAQ:

1) Leonidas activates, moves and attacks as normal.
2) At the end of Leoniads' activation, Leader kicks in. Player may then search for a troop activation card of a troop in Leonodas' area.
3) Player then activates a troop in Leonidas' area without the need for an AOW card. This counts as a second activaion.

Am I missing something? Or are you suggesting that troops in adjacent territories be affected by leader as well (which I agree)?


Actually I added the adjacent part because I chose Leonidas as an example (he has a power that works like Leader but in surroundings).
What I want is that Leader can be trigger as a free action during his turn, so he does not need to end his activation in the same area as the troop to be able to trigger.

It was a bad example now that I think about it, but I hope my idea gets through.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tony berart
France
aubevoye
flag msg tools
nexbot wrote:
In my opinion, area attacks not affecting Arachne's webs make her VERY powerful. I think area attacks should be able to target the webs.


In my opinion, i will have rather say it make her powerful, maybe very powerful but surely not VERY powerful.


@ Tyrone
ORION'S HUNTER POWER : we are aware about that and we think it's ok. That way the mechanics of his power tell us the same story of what the character is supposed to do, kill big monsters.
With this change orion doesn't became useless but he plays as he is suppose to act.

SISYPHUS :
Yes, but if you play medusa and you opponant pick sisyphus be smart and don't petrify sisyphus. It's what we can call a sort of counter pick of medusa
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andi Nurgle
Germany
flag msg tools
Turonee wrote:
Nurgle23 wrote:
One thing I find confusing is, that it is mentioned, that for example Satyrs can only be recruited with Pan.
But it doesn‘t say that on the dash board (same with the hounds of Artemis), like it does on Arachne or Circe.
Where does it say I cannot recruit the Satyrs when Pan is nit in play?


This FAQ makes the neccessary corrections and overrides whatever is written on the dashboards/ rulebook/ quickstart guide/ etc. So now, we follow all of what is written here instead.

I understand that. That‘s how faqs work.
But the question was written as if Satyrs always couldn‘t be recruited whithout Pan, which was what threw me off.

Same with lava. No gem collecting from lava anymore.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrone
Philippines
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Evil_X wrote:

Actually I added the adjacent part because I chose Leonidas as an example (he has a power that works like Leader but in surroundings).
What I want is that Leader can be trigger as a free action during his turn, so he does not need to end his activation in the same area as the troop to be able to trigger.

It was a bad example now that I think about it, but I hope my idea gets through.


Ahhh I get what you mean. You want leader to trigger at any time so that you could order troops around to make them more flexible. That's actually a good idea. And I agree and hope they do take this onto consideration.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Conklin
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pikaraph wrote:

Leader
Q : Is it possible to search for a card that will not be found in the deck ?
A: No. The talent is changed to this :
“At the end of this unit’s activation, its owner may choose a friendly unit of troops in the same area as the Leader.
The friendly unit’s owner may search their deck for 1 activation card of that unit if there is any remaining in their deck, show it to everybody and add it to their hand.
If the friendly unit belongs to the active player then it may be activated immediately by discarding one of its activation cards. This Leader activation counts towards the maximum number of unit activations allowed for this turn. This activation does not require an art of war card to be discarded. If the friendly unit does not belong to the active player then it may be activated immediately by discarding one of its activation cards. This Leader activation counts towards the maximum number of unit activations allowed for this turn. This activation does not require an art of war card to be discarded.”




Ok, just so we're 100% clear. The wording here does not prohibit chosing a friendly units of troops that you know doesn't have any activation cards in the deck...it just prohibits searching the deck for a non-existent card. Correct?

You can still " choose a friendly unit of troops in the same area as the Leader" and it "may be activated immediately by discarding one of its activation cards" if you already have one of its cards in your hand prior to the use of Leader. You would just skip the search.

Just being perfectly (pedantically) clear.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken M
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
Pikaraph wrote:
Q: Are boundaries terrain effets ?
A: No, boundaries are not terrain effects, they must be followed by any units, no matter their type.


So this applies to flying units?
Highs : units standing behind the arrowhead gain +1 offence and +1 range against units standing in front of the arrowhead. They ignore obstacles when determining whether the target is visible or not.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D Conklin
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
delerme wrote:
I don't understand the answer

Q: How do flying units interact with Impassable boundaries?
How many movement points would a flying unit need to cross a wall (if they even can)?
A: non-flying units cannot move through this boundary. This boundary blocks any line of sight, except those from flying units adjacent to this boundary.

Shouldn't it be "flying units" insteand of "non-flying units" as the first words of the answers?


No I think that is right because later it says (emphasis added):

Quote:
Q: How impassible boundaries should be played ?
A: units cannot move through impassible boundaries except flying units, impassible boundaries block LOS, thus block attacks that need a LOS, except LOS from flying units being in an area borded by an impassible boundary.


So I think the first Answer should have said (or also said) "Flying units can move through this boundary".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tony berart
France
aubevoye
flag msg tools
dc0nklin wrote:

You can still " choose a friendly unit of troops in the same area as the Leader" and it "may be activated immediately by discarding one of its activation cards" if you already have one of its cards in your hand prior to the use of Leader. You would just skip the search.

Just being perfectly (pedantically) clear.


Yes you are right, you can do this
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tyrone
Philippines
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
@Tony
Thank you for the response! However, I think giving Orion the option to choose whether he increases his chance of dealing damage or just throw an enemy in that turn actually makes him stronger instead, because you now give Orion the option to choose what he does with his attack rather than just limiting him to work a certain way, don't you think?

As for medusa, sisyphus ia a counter then! again thank you for the response!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Max Jansson
Sweden
Trollhättan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dc0nklin wrote:
Pikaraph wrote:

Leader
Q : Is it possible to search for a card that will not be found in the deck ?
A: No. The talent is changed to this :
“At the end of this unit’s activation, its owner may choose a friendly unit of troops in the same area as the Leader.
The friendly unit’s owner may search their deck for 1 activation card of that unit if there is any remaining in their deck, show it to everybody and add it to their hand.
If the friendly unit belongs to the active player then it may be activated immediately by discarding one of its activation cards. This Leader activation counts towards the maximum number of unit activations allowed for this turn. This activation does not require an art of war card to be discarded. If the friendly unit does not belong to the active player then it may be activated immediately by discarding one of its activation cards. This Leader activation counts towards the maximum number of unit activations allowed for this turn. This activation does not require an art of war card to be discarded.”




Ok, just so we're 100% clear. The wording here does not prohibit chosing a friendly units of troops that you know doesn't have any activation cards in the deck...it just prohibits searching the deck for a non-existent card. Correct?

You can still " choose a friendly unit of troops in the same area as the Leader" and it "may be activated immediately by discarding one of its activation cards" if you already have one of its cards in your hand prior to the use of Leader. You would just skip the search.

Just being perfectly (pedantically) clear.


What you wrote is exactly what I got as well. You do not need to search for a card and you do not need to activate the unit you chose.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
1 , 2 , 3 , 4 , 5  Next »  [12] | 
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.