Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Brad Carey
United States
Barre
Vermont
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm just learning the game but falling damage is confusing me. Mechs stand 2 levels tall right? Say you fall from a level 1 hex to a level 0 hex. How many levels do you fall, how much damage do you take, and what is the pilot check modifier? I am confused about if it includes the height of the Mech or just the difference in terrain.

Second, when falling into water I know you take half damage when you hit the surface, and half damage for hitting the bottom... But do you take the surface damage if you are standing in depth -1 and so half in the water? Or only if you are at like level +1 and you fall into depth -1?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rolando Mejia
Panama
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
What version are you playing?

As I only play the oldest version I will refrain to answer, but this may have changed a few time in different versions of the game and it will help you get a better answer.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Carey
United States
Barre
Vermont
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Using the classic battletech introductory rulebook in the introductory boxed set.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rolando Mejia
Panama
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, as people playing the version you are playing may take a while to answer I can tell you how it was in the first edition of the game. It shouldn't be too different.

First mech height is never taken into account, mechs are 2 levels of height, yes, but you base damage on height fallen based in the level the mech was before and after the fall, so based in where the mech feet where.