Subject: Building Trans Mississippi Forts rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Kolenda
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
I am new to the game, and am playing solo on Vassal to learn the rules. In my game, the South is using Trans-Mississippi cards to build forts on the west side of the Mississippi. Now that the North is able to invade in the West, taking or surrounding the forts is taking quite a bit of Northern resources. Anyone else run into this strategy?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Langdon
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
There aren’t that many total forts for the south, so if they stack in the TM it’ll certainly leave them short elsewhere, and more so the forts above +2.

Deciding where to place the CSA forts requires a total theatre strategy. Generally speaking it’s often better to attack where the CSA doesn’t want you to, rather than trying to match them wherever they lay their best defence. The Union is stronger but not enough to just smash its way through any obstacles.

The number of attack lines in the TM is somewhat limited so it can be quite easy to lay a roadblock of a fort in the way. Some disadvantages to this is...it’s not so easy to reinforce manpower in the TM due to rail network and lack of sps that are given to the TM. So taking initial losses to attrite a fort (and yes that’s not a given), can work in terms of lack of CSA reinforcement. I have played games where the TM ends up a war zone out of all proportion to its general worth, it can be easy to just end up throwing more and more into the area, buts it’s always mostly piecemeal. 6sp in the TM is a reasonable force, above that takes real commitment to generate and sustain.

Try not to be a totally reactive player to a certain strategy, attack where unexpected, make the other side react.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ken
United States
Crystal Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb