Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Kingdom Death: Monster» Forums » Rules

Subject: Surging Zanbato grand master rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Valtteri Turunen
Finland
flag msg tools
Hello fellow survivors.
I have a question that arose during our latest KDM session while fighting a level two Phoenix. Our Zanbato wielding grand weapon master Surged during a flow point on the monster AI card Deja Vu. Zanbato found a Hit Location with a critical hit reaction and promptly critted. We played the follow up as such: Phoenix got knocked down and the AI card got cancelled, saving the day as the AI card was the first one drawn. Further into the fight the same thing happened on a different AI card (ie. on the monsters turn) but we then read the grand weapon specialization again. The specialty reads that when the grand weapon crits on the attacking survivors act the target is knocked down (emphasis mine). We then ruled that as the grand master didn't Surge during his own Act, the Phoenix isnt knocked down (and acknowledged that we played it wrong on the Deja Vu). The manual differentiates between an Act and an Activation and an Action, hence the question:

When a Grand weapon specialization having, Zanbato wielding crit machine Surges and crits on a crit location, is the monster knocked down or not?

Thanks in advance.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Trewartha
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmb
I never noticed that bit before... Yeah it does look like it is only during that survivor's turn, not if they surge at other points.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Valtteri Turunen
Finland
flag msg tools
Well, grand weapon specialization knocking down monsters on your Act (turn) only does put value on those critical hit reactions that knock down monsters if you manage to find one while Surging on the monsters turn. And knocking down a monster does have benefits on the survivors turn in addition to the critical hit reaction. So maybe, while not that thematic or mechanically making sense, critting a monster while its doing its thing and knocking it down is a too strong of an ability game balance wise considering how powerful knockdowns are (how easy it is to have a grand weapon specialist, how seldom knockdown is the direct reaction to critical hits etc.)

I would like a definitive answer, but as such I think we will be playing according to our second interpretation.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Trewartha
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmb
Best not to be too used to that tactic anyway since when you reach level 3's they are Indomitable.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.