Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Forbidden Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: The discard pile and timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Dukai
msg tools
My wife drew the last two cards from the treasure deck. She has to discard. Do I shuffle the discard pile into a new deck right away or wait for her to discard the cards into the discard pile before shuffling? EDITED

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan M
United States
Knoxville
TN
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I wouldn't shuffle until you needed to draw a card and did not have one to draw.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Bolland
United States
Apple Valley
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Press PLAY
badge
Loooooooooooooooon!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules clearly state that you shuffle when you run out of cards. Her discards would be after the shuffle.

Edit to add this:

Top of page 7:

When the Treasure Deck Runs Out

When the last card of the Treasure deck is drawn, immediately shuffle the Treasure discard pile and turn it over to form a new Treasure deck.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave D
United Kingdom
Buckinghamshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
loon wrote:
When the last card of the Treasure deck is drawn, immediately shuffle the Treasure discard pile and turn it over to form a new Treasure deck.


But they also say that if you have more than the hand limit, you must immediately discard down. So that's two different things that must happen immediately.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Dukai
msg tools
divenal wrote:
loon wrote:
When the last card of the Treasure deck is drawn, immediately shuffle the Treasure discard pile and turn it over to form a new Treasure deck.


But they also say that if you have more than the hand limit, you must immediately discard down. So that's two different things that must happen immediately.


Exactly. Which one takes priority? The rules aren't clear about this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ethan Furman
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
danieldukai wrote:
divenal wrote:
loon wrote:
When the last card of the Treasure deck is drawn, immediately shuffle the Treasure discard pile and turn it over to form a new Treasure deck.

But they also say that if you have more than the hand limit, you must immediately discard down. So that's two different things that must happen immediately.

Exactly. Which one takes priority? The rules aren't clear about this.

I am going to postulate that there is a period of time between "drawing the last card" and before "exceeding your hand limit" -- that time would be "bringing the card from the deck to your hand".

So clearly, the reshuffle should happen before the discard. whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jakub K.
Poland
Bydgoszcz
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Have a look at this post by Matt Leacock where he explains how to draw treasure cards.
And even more helpful might be his reply two posts below in that thread.

Matt Leacock wrote:
If you draw the last card out of the deck and it's a Helicopter or Sandbag and you'd like to play it before the reshuffle, then by all means, knock yourself out. Discard the card, reshuffle the discard and draw your second card.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Leacock
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mb
In an effort to make the answer a bit more accessible to thread skimmers:

1. Reshuffle when you draw the last card from the Treasure deck. (Don't wait until you need to draw a card and the draw pile is exhausted.)
2. You may draw and evaluate both of the Treasure cards before evaluating which one to discard.
3. You may play Event cards from your hand prior to shuffling the discard pile. (This can be helpful if you'd like to see that Sandbag card come around again sooner, for example.)


The intentions behind the above rulings are to:
- support the way lots many people play naturally – it's easier to recognize that the deck has run out and take action than to wait until a card is needed -- especially if that next card will be drawn a whole turn later.
- reduce the likelihood that a player may inadvertently "cheat" when trying to play optimally.

Perhaps we'll be able to tighten the way this is described in a future reprint. In the meantime, hope this helps!
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave D
United Kingdom
Buckinghamshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just pondering whether there was any net difference between shuffling when the draw pile empties (after discarding excess, if necessary) vs shuffling when there are no cards available to draw...

One case would be when, during the turn after which the draw pile emptied, cards are passed from one player to another, which means the recpient has to discard down before cards are drawn. In this case, sometimes you do want the cards to be shuffled in (treasure you have not yet collected), but sometimes you don't (treasure you have collected). Is it legal to discard cards beforehand, in anticipation of receiving cards, or can you discard only when count exceeds the hand limit ?

Another case would be if you have a helicopter lift card, but intend using it during during the next turn (eg cards will be passed during the turn, and then use airlift to the treasure card). In such a case, it would be beneficial to be able to spend the airlift before the discards are shuffled.

(To implement, could still start shuffling as soon as the draw pile is empty, but any discards before cards are drawn can be added to the mix.)

Not sure how someone could cheat by deferring the shuffle..?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.