Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » General

Subject: Scenario 54 question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Fontaine
Canada
flag msg tools
It says no other character but the Seeker of Xorn can inflict damage on the Harrowers, however can they still be attacked for status effects such as disarm, stun, pulling out elements etc from the other characters?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin S.
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's how we played it. We also hit the point where there were no other enemies on the board, which would have been a lot of sitting around and doing nothing for the other players.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Vetter
Germany
Karlsruhe
flag msg tools
mb
I think so (not sure about damage from wounds, though, since it is not inflicted by characters, but the status effect itself).

Additionally: Some abilities allow you to outright kill an enemy (without doing damage). Sounds like that should still be allowed as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Baker
msg tools
VeaaC wrote:
Additionally: Some abilities allow you to outright kill an enemy (without doing damage). Sounds like that should still be allowed as well.


In theory, it seems so, but you want to be very careful about doing that (for reasons which are explained in the scenario at the same time as the “only the Seeker can damage them” rule, elaborated in the spoiler field below).

Spoiler (click to reveal)
The Seeker has to charge up the Staff of Xorn by dealing damage to them. I don’t know how closely this scales with number of players/scenario level, but at the level we attempted it (4 players, scenario level 3), the amount of damage necessary was such that if an insta-kill was used on an undamaged elite, the scenario would have become unwinnable. I think it would have still been possible with an insta-kill on an undamaged normal, but just barely. I would not be surprised if doing so with 2 or 3 players made it unwinnable or if the math works slightly differently at different scenario levels.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Marney
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmb
VeaaC wrote:
Additionally: Some abilities allow you to outright kill an enemy (without doing damage). Sounds like that should still be allowed as well.


Yes, but this would make the scenario unwinnable unless you used it at the exact right moment. In our 2-player game, the Seeker applied some wounds to the Harrowers and it was already a race to deal enough damage to complete the scenario before they killed themselves.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Vetter
Germany
Karlsruhe
flag msg tools
mb
The enemies actually have a healing ability on their cards (on average every 3 turns or so?), so if you are patient it will work out (we killed one outright, and took our time safely and slowly whittling away at the other two)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marcel Cwertetschka
Germany
Vienna
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Gloomhaven: Forgotten Circles!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
- yes you can inflict status effects with attacks but no damage is applied
- yes you can kill them with kill abilities but as said, you probably need to wait until they heal to deal enough damage to charge the staff

The basic idea is that your teammates would focus on the other monsters and crowdcontrol the infesters until enough damage is done by the seeker.

Greetings Marcel
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.