Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Gloomhaven» Forums » Rules

Subject: Cards with a persistent effect on adiacent allies rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Francescogiovanni Mura
Italy
flag msg tools
Hi all!
sorry if this is a duplicate but I did not find anything about this:

When applying an effect like

You and all adjacent allies add
+1 Attack to all your Attacks this round.


does this still apply even if the ally moves away?

Or does it applies only to adiacent allies at the moment of their attacks?

I have a feeling this is kind of a stupid question, but it's been confusing me and my group for a while.

Thank you in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
michele c
Germany
Berlin
flag msg tools
mb
It is like an aura.

It applies if the ally is adjacent when he attacks.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Skov
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Michele is right. It's been clarified in the FAQ.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ziccu wrote:
Hi all!
sorry if this is a duplicate but I did not find anything about this


No need to apologize, but the answer is in the Official FAQ, under the Tinkerer section.

Official FAQ wrote:
Enhancement Field (Card 040):
The bottom effect applies to allies only while they are adjacent to you (like an aura), not allies adjacent to you at the time this action was performed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Norman
United States
Blaine
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is a good question.

This is the one rule our group decided to house rule. We changed it to a buff at the time of casting. It did make it easier to use effectively but without that change our Tinkerer entered Analysis Paralysis and it slowed down the game.

The advantage of the rules as written is that a character starting outside of the aura may have some tough choices to make in there plans. Do I change to go into the aura or stick to my original plan?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Francescogiovanni Mura
Italy
flag msg tools
Dexter345 wrote:

No need to apologize, but the answer is in the Official FAQ, under the Tinkerer section.


I was reading them yesterday and I didn't notice this one (I was thinking about other issues, but still)...

Anyway, good to know, I will make sure to check them more often and with more care.

(edited because I forgot to quote)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugues
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
Since this card (Enhancement Field, for the Tinkerer) has an initiative of 61, it's not *super* useful, for the turn is fairly advanced by then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Nakamura
United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
hugolin wrote:
Since this card (Enhancement Field, for the Tinkerer) has an initiative of 61, it's not *super* useful, for the turn is fairly advanced by then.


Not on its own, but it can be paired with cards like Toxic Bolt (18), Stun Shot (20), or (often) Net Shooter (19). So you at least get a buff to your ranged attack, and you go early enough that you might buff an ally too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
kornetmuse kornetmuse
France
flag msg tools
hugolin wrote:
Since this card (Enhancement Field, for the Tinkerer) has an initiative of 61, it's not *super* useful, for the turn is fairly advanced by then.


Don't forget you pair it to another card. If the other card as greater initiative you could use this very soon in the round .
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hugues
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
Jeez lol you're right! laugh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.