flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Never know what's next.
mbmbmbmbmb
by John D Clair

Part 1. Why Sleeve?
Ironically, I never sleeve my games. Cards getting damaged is not something I worry about. I sleeved a couple of my Magic decks back in the day that had good rares in them, but that was about it. However, I have always sleeved my prototypes; makes the hand-cut paper cards easier to shuffle, and some good opaque backed sleeves means your paper cards aren’t see-through. They were a tool of prototyping. I was a novice game designer. Having sold one little children’s game to a small two man game company in 2012, I set a goal of designing a really unique game to catch the attention of larger publishers. Late summer 2013, on a warm evening walk in my neighborhood in Los Angeles I had an idea about card sleeves.

I would occasionally go on walks to brainstorm, bouncing around in my head anything and everything game related to see if I could come up with an original (and not stupid) idea. Often inspiration comes by accident, but sometimes I try to force inspiration to happen, and every now and then that actually works. On this particular walk I was trying to think of new ways to use various game components: dice, cards, game box, game board, dice tower, cubes, meeples, bags, dials. When I hit on card sleeves, it occurred to me that, to my knowledge, card sleeves had never been used as an essential component in a game rather than just as an accessory to protect cards. Which of course begged the question if sleeves were used as an essential element, what might that look like? Transparent cards, which is what I think most people see as the core of card-crafting, hadn’t occurred to me yet. As a side-note on that point, I actually think sleeves are key to the definition of card-crafting not transparent cards. Transparent cards are merely one particularly cool way to do card-crafting, but certainly not the only way.