Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Darkest Night (Second edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: The Monk can kill the Necromancer without a Holy Relic? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Billups
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I was surprised this was not addressed in the Compendium:
If I use the Chi version of the Patience power under the right circumstances and score a 6 I believe the Monk can get a surprise victory and kill the Necromancer. And if the Monk does have the Relic and uses the Chi version of Patience he could kill the Necromancer on a 5 or 6? This of course only happens if there are no blights in the location.

This just happened in my game so making sure I'm correct. As it turned out, he rolled a natural 6 with the Relic so it won't change the outcome.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Per rule 12.2 (pages 13-14), you can't kill the Necromancer without a holy relic, even if you roll a 7. You can still force him to sacrifice a blight, though.

You can combine Chi Patience with a holy relic to win on a natural 5.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Billups
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Ok thanks Jeremy.
This is a beautiful game. I'm very happy with the 2nd edition.

I would love to see your take on a dungeon crawler with this much random exploration and replayability.
5 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffery Hudson
United States
Washington
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you, i was wondering about things like this as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.