Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Love Letter Premium» Forums » Rules

Subject: Constable clarification: discard on KO rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Wong
msg tools
Now this is an unlikely event, though possible.

Let's say somehow you decided not to play the constable when you first got it, or perhaps more plausible, were dealt the Constable card at round start, and before it was your turn (or maybe someone used the cardinal on you and someone else who has the constable and you end up getting the constable before you can play it) so either way you have the constable in your hand.

Now if someone uses their guard on you and guessed that you have a 6, you get knocked out of the round and the constable would end up in your discard pile.

My interpretation is you don't get an affection token because the constable should have been there before you were knocked out, not on the turn that you were. I also think it's better this way anyway to limit the ability of an otherwise rather overpowered card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pavel Strybuk
Belarus
Gomel
Gomel
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are right, no tokens are given in this case.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren Howes
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
The guard knocking you out and no affection token given makes sense. On a recent game, the prince was played forcing the player to discard the constable, and it was argued that the constable have no token since the player was forced to discard it rather than chose to discard it. Shouldn't the player still get the token, since the wording says "if it's in your discard pile" not "of you choose to discard this card"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.