Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Castles of Mad King Ludwig» Forums » Rules

Subject: A few rule clarifications and scoring questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mick Filflanks
msg tools
1. What happens if by random chance someone is able to take multiple turns in a round, buy 3 rooms and there is not enough for everyone to go around, do you just pass?

2. When scoring activity rooms when you place a new room on it, do you count the other rooms connected to it when taking to account its adjacency ex. there are 2 other rooms attached that give -1 each and the new room you just added is another -1. So would it be -3 or -1 for the scoring? Sorry this is hard to word correctly lol.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If there are no rooms left to buy, or you can’t afford to buy any rooms that are available, or the only rooms available don’t fit, you can always buy stairs or a hall, and in any case, you can always “pass” by taking 5000 marks from the bank.

Whenever you add a room to an existing room, you score the adjacency points (or take the adjacency penalty) only for the new connection you just added - you don’t re-score all rooms adjacent to a room that existed before you placed yours.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreu P.
Spain
Barcelona
Catalonia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Everything is easier to track if you just score all rooms once the game ends and hence all adjacency bonuses and penalties are definitive. In our games, the only points we score immediately are, of course, completion rewards from activity and living rooms. Everything else can be done during final scoring.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ahearne
United States
Ayer
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DarkVaati wrote:
Everything is easier to track if you just score all rooms once the game ends and hence all adjacency bonuses and penalties are definitive. In our games, the only points we score immediately are, of course, completion rewards from activity and living rooms. Everything else can be done during final scoring.


Is that always true for downstairs rooms? Can't the points depend on what was in the castle when you added the downstairs room?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Burgess
United Kingdom
Cambridge
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. If you add a new room which contributes to a downstairs room score, you add that score when you add the room.

But I personally wouldn’t score everything at the end. I prefer scoring as you go.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andreu P.
Spain
Barcelona
Catalonia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
elcoderdude wrote:
DarkVaati wrote:
Everything is easier to track if you just score all rooms once the game ends and hence all adjacency bonuses and penalties are definitive. In our games, the only points we score immediately are, of course, completion rewards from activity and living rooms. Everything else can be done during final scoring.


Is that always true for downstairs rooms? Can't the points depend on what was in the castle when you added the downstairs room?


It's true for any room; no tiles can be removed from your castle, so everything that is present at any given time will still be there at the end. In fact, endgame scoring is specially recommendable at least for downstairs rooms, since they give bonus points for having a specific type of room anywhere (instead of directly adjacent) and hence it's quite common to forget about that bonus whenever you're adding new rooms in another floor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.