Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Android: Netrunner» Forums » Rules

Subject: Trash effects rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff Rebelo
Canada
flag msg tools
Wondering about trash effects;

When can you use trash effects? Can they be used on an opponents turn, or only your own?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Brown
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
trash effects can generally be used during any paid ability window

paid abilities occur at many times throughout the game, typically immediately preceding/proceeding clicks spent. there are also complicated ability windows during a run

if an active player spends a click, he or she has the opportunity to use any or all of their available paid abilities in the order of their choosing, then the inactive player gets to do so.

so for example i could play a Hedge Fund and immediately use those credits to charge up NASX. before i have the chance to get my credits from NASX, the runner has a chance to use paid abilities.


which trash effect are you referring to? perhaps i can help a bit more.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Brown
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
here are some images that will hopefully help better explain the timing structure and when you can take paid abilities



6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cry Of Frustration
msg tools
mb
Depends, basically. Some cards have "[click], [trash]:" on them, in which case you have to use them during your action phase when spending one of your clicks. (eg. Same Old Thing: https://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/03054 )

If,on the other hand, the trash ability is just formatted with "[trash]: do a thing", then you can use it during any ability window (start and end of each turn, between clicks, specific windows during a run) on either yours or your opponent's turn. (example: https://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/10042 )

Finally, some cards say specifically "[trash]: prevent something", like https://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/01030 for example. Those you can only use outside the normal priority order, when their triggering condition is met. For example, corp plays Boom!, you trash Crash Space to prevent 3 damage - this is not during a paid ability window, because if you wait until the paid ability window after the corp played Boom you'd be dead. Instead, it's in response to your suffering meat damage (its triggering condition). Abilities like that can't be used unless they are actually preventing something.

A good counterexample is Forger https://netrunnerdb.com/en/card/08065 which says "Avoid or remove". In that case, you can play it when you're about to take a tag, to avoid it (outside a normal paid ability window), or you can wait until the next paid ability window and use it to remove a tag. Same effect, but it happens at different points during the turn.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.