Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Axis Empires: Dai Senso!» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Cornaghie
United States
Memphis
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
After a few plays of Dai Senso, we have a couple of questions if anyone could respond

1. The rules make it appear that a power can go to war by simply moving units into a hex, placing a support unit, etc, which removes a policy, leaving the nations at war. (13.6.1.2) So what is the purpose of the declare war option during 6.1.1 in the final administrative phase?

2. When the Hakko Ichieu marker is removed from the turn track, it is placed on the VP line currently occupied by the VP marker, but never moves, even if the Japanese lose hexes which reduced the VP count?

3. It would seem that even with the adjustments suggested by the errata, about the Russian VP hexes only counting 1/2, the Japanese can still win somewhat easily by attacking the Russians/Allies with Total war in about 1940, and due to the ESV, the Russians have a hard time defending, the Japanese then get to the Hakko stage, making it hard for the Allies to recover too many victory hexes? Is this common or have we missed something? We understand that the Allies only need a net +1 VP to win with Hakko in play
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Doran
United States
Columbia
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
You might try reaching out to Thomas Prowell. He is one of the designers and is often present on bgg. If you look here you will see his profile and can geekmail him..

https://www.boardgamegeek.com/user/thomasprowell
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Hanna
United States
Eastbourne, England (Yankee go home!)
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cctenn wrote:
After a few plays of Dai Senso, we have a couple of questions if anyone could respond

1. The rules make it appear that a power can go to war by simply moving units into a hex, placing a support unit, etc, which removes a policy, leaving the nations at war. (13.6.1.2) So what is the purpose of the declare war option during 6.1.1 in the final administrative phase?

No, they can't go to war like that because the target country needs to be active to do that. Hence they are already at war, just in a posture (PAC). Declare war on countries during the final admin phase that are not active to get them at war so they can be attacked.

2. When the Hakko Ichieu marker is removed from the turn track, it is placed on the VP line currently occupied by the VP marker, but never moves, even if the Japanese lose hexes which reduced the VP count?

see 15.21


3. It would seem that even with the adjustments suggested by the errata, about the Russian VP hexes only counting 1/2, the Japanese can still win somewhat easily by attacking the Russians/Allies with Total war in about 1940, and due to the ESV, the Russians have a hard time defending, the Japanese then get to the Hakko stage, making it hard for the Allies to recover too many victory hexes? Is this common or have we missed something? We understand that the Allies only need a net +1 VP to win with Hakko in play

this fix was a stopgap measure and the game remains broken with this fix in play. the problem has been substantially addressed with the pending update kit.



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.