msg tools
mb
Hello.
Lets talk about preconceptions.
A preconception could be for example:
X makes a game not enjoyable to play.
X could be "if 2 players can decide to play basicly 2v1 versus a third player"
Another form of preconception would be:
"I want to create a worker placement game." This would limit what the game could become (if I add a lot of other game mechanics like action cards it is not a worker placement game anymore).

Preconceptions seem to limit what I try out in game design, they seem to limit my creativity.
On the other side they can save me time that I do not try out things that won't result in a good game any way.

How do you deal with preconceptions? Are you concious of yours?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
roger miller
United States
California
flag msg tools
publisher
As a designer I start with a design framework. It is a preconception. But if it is not working I pull out something and try over. If it ends up different mechanics from different styles of game then I am fine with it.

Preconceptions also heavily effect the rules reading by a customer. So if you design something different be ready to explain it several times and address those preconceptions directly.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Perry Kleinhenz
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
As you say preconceptions narrow your focus. I think when I'm generating ideas they come much more readily when I keep an open mind and don't let myself get too bogged down with details or potential problems. It's also pretty fun to do this kind of blue sky thinking without worrying about practicality.

That being said preconceptions or limitations will always have to enter any design. As Roger says you need to make a game that other people will understand how to play, it's much easier for players to learn rules to a game that conforms to most of their expectations.