Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

A Study in Emerald» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bismarck "locked city" and "The Third Section" card action rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeff M
United States
Lafayette
California
flag msg tools
mb
From the FAQ in the "Files" section, I came across these;
"Q8.2b: Can a player who plays The Third Section take the top Game card and remove it from one game
card box in a city locked by "Bismarck" Card?
A8.2b: MW: You
can still use the Third Section in a city locked down by Bismarck. Bismarck stops other
players placing influence and agents there.

Q8.2c: Can you place a blocking disc or use Third Section in a Bismarcked city?
A8.2.c: MW: You cannot place a blocking disc on a card in a city that has the Bismarck card in play in [it].
Also, you
cannot use the Third Section to remove cards from that city.

The MW's answer to question 2b says you CAN use "The Third Section" card to remove the top Game card from a city locked by the Bismarck card, while his answer to question 2c says you CANNOT use "The Third Section" card to remove cards from a city that has the Bismarck card on it.
Which is it?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Crater
msg tools
It's these sorts of rule issues that make me glad my friends are too lazy to play the 1st edition anymore.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Asimakis
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Whichever you prefer!

PLB
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff M
United States
Lafayette
California
flag msg tools
mb
Guess I'll go by what day of the week we are playing the game on.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Mesich
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Horta chortles.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Full post for one of the references:

Frog1 wrote:
You can still use the Third Section in a city locked down by Bismarck. Bismarck stops other players placing influence and agents there. If it could also stop the effect on cards then you would have a nightmare time with the rules.

Martin
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff M
United States
Lafayette
California
flag msg tools
mb
Thanks. I'll go with that then!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff M
United States
Lafayette
California
flag msg tools
mb
Actually, cancel my last comment.

I've summarized what, so far, I've been able to find from MW/directly quoting him.

This post from MW on Feb 23, 2014;

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1126842/some-rules

Frog1 wrote:
..
You cannot place a blocking disc on a card in a city that has the Bismarck card in play in. Also, you cannot use the Third Section to remove cards from that city.

Martin



MW post from May 27 2014;

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1176167/bismarck-vs-third-s...

Frog1 wrote:
You can still use the Third Section in a city locked down by Bismarck. Bismarck stops other players placing influence and agents there. If it could also stop the effect on cards then you would have a nightmare time with the rules.

Martin


The most recent update of the FAQ's in the "Files" section from Sept 9, 2016;

https://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/99321/study-emerald-faq-1...

Just a further clarification about the Bismarck card:

Q8.2c: Can you place a blocking disc or use Third Section in a Bismarcked city?

A8.2.c: MW: You cannot place a blocking disc on a card in a city that has the Bismarck card in play in [it]. Also, you cannot use the Third Section to remove cards from that city.


So the final word I've been able to find is no, you cannot use blocking discs/Third Section actions on a "Bismarcked" city.

At least until MW's next rule "clarification". whistle
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.