Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Pendragon: The Fall of Roman Britain» Forums » Rules

Subject: Off-board Prosperity cubes. Which ones are these? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luis E. Hernández
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are several references in the rules and charts to "off-board Prosperity cubes". I understand they are basically cubes plundered by raiders who have returned, but they will only be available after those actions have been performed. Are there any other Prosperity cubes to grab from? Maybe the extra 10 cubes, or are they just for population raises? Where do you take Prosperity cubes in other instances (such as when you destroy a stronghold)?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay M
United States
Greenville
South Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gameluis wrote:
There are several references in the rules and charts to "off-board Prosperity cubes". I understand they are basically cubes plundered by raiders who have returned, but they will only be available after those actions have been performed. Are there any other Prosperity cubes to grab from? Maybe the extra 10 cubes, or are they just for population raises? Where do you take Prosperity cubes in other instances (such as when you destroy a stronghold)?


Off board is just the supply pile, any cubes not sitting in a square as Prosperity, or on the head of some piece as Plunder. Yes, they are the extras, plus pieces that have been returned from Plunder. Destroying a stronghold, take it from off-Board.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddy del Rio
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gameluis wrote:
There are several references in the rules and charts to "off-board Prosperity cubes". I understand they are basically cubes plundered by raiders who have returned, but they will only be available after those actions have been performed. Are there any other Prosperity cubes to grab from? Maybe the extra 10 cubes, or are they just for population raises? Where do you take Prosperity cubes in other instances (such as when you destroy a stronghold)?

When you destroy a Stronghold you are awarded cubes from the off-board supply (gold cubes not in play).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luis E. Hernández
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks to both of you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morgane Gouyon-Rety
Canada
Montreal
QC
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, every golden cube that is not currently in play as Prosperity or (unreturned) Plunder is "off-board", and available when needed (when razing a Stronghold or paying Foederati for instance).

Note that, unlike other game pieces, there is no limited pool of golden cubes: the game provides 90 of these plus some extras, but this is no game limit, only a production decision (based on statistical data from many playtest games showing that amount was more than enough).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luis E. Hernández
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, Marc!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Holman
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GouyonRety wrote:
Yes, every golden cube that is not currently in play as Prosperity or (unreturned) Plunder is "off-board", and available when needed (when razing a Stronghold or paying Foederati for instance).

Note that, unlike other game pieces, there is no limited pool of golden cubes: the game provides 90 of these plus some extras, but this is no game limit, only a production decision (based on statistical data from many playtest games showing that amount was more than enough).


My Pendragon included one extra of every wooden piece, but I had two extra golden cubes. Should be plenty!



1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.