Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Eldritch Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Devoured counts as defeated? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If an investigator is devoured, does that count as defeated investigator?

I ask, because there are some effects, which are triggered, when an investigator is defeated. I wonder, if these effects are also triggered, if an investigator is devoured.

For example, the Mythos Card "Over My Dead Body" has the following text: (...) When an investigator is defeated, spawn 2 Monsters on that space. Then discard this card. (...)

Assumption: A devoured investigator does not count as a defeated investigator.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris E
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Devoured is defeated, only worse. You still advance Doom and trigger any defeated investigator actions. The investigator is removed from the map instead of moved to the nearest city and you can not encounter the investigator. Their items, spells, clues, etc are removed from the game completely.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris E
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, should have led with this.

From the manual:

Quote:
Devoured Investigators

Some game effects cause investigators to be devoured. When
an investigator is devoured, he is considered defeated but only
follows steps 1 and 4 of “Defeated Investigators” on the left.
He then discards all Conditions, possessions, Health, Sanity,
and Improvement tokens and removes his Investigator sheet
and token from the game. At the end of the Mythos Phase, he
chooses a new investigator as described on the left.



https://images-cdn.fantasyflightgames.com/filer_public/c7/d6... Page 14

edit: bolding and trying to make link nicer
19 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank Otte
Germany
Münster
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for that definive hint. Normally, I try to avoid asking questions, which are clearly answered by the manual. Excuse me for this oversight.
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris E
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hermjard wrote:
Thanks for that definive hint. Normally, I try to avoid asking questions, which are clearly answered by the manual. Excuse me for this oversight.


No worries, we all do it from time to time.
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Wilson
United Kingdom
Plymouth
flag msg tools
badge
There Can Be Only One! The Wrong One!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I always think of "defeated" meaning either badly injured or having gone completely insane, but still having possessions available for other investigators to gather up.

Whereas "devoured" means.... total destruction! gulp

The rules do however mention that a "devoured" investigator is also considered "defeated" but worse!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.