Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Firefly: The Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on delivery jobs rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nina
Slovakia
Slovak Republic
flag msg tools
Hello,

I have a delivery job; that you should pick up the 3 cargo at location 1 and deliver it to location 2.

Now, what if, I already have 3 cargo from some previous encounters in game.

Can I just go to location 2; start work action; and do the delivery?

or

Do I have to go to location 1; pick up 3 cargo; activate the job and then go to location 2 and deliver the 3 cargo to finish the job?

Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Wardlow
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You have to go to location 1 and "start work", picking up the 3 cargo, then proceed to location 2 to deliver it.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nina
Slovakia
Slovak Republic
flag msg tools
Thank you for the reply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger BW
United Kingdom
High Wycombe
Buckinghamshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
But it doesn't have to be the same 3 cargo. (So you can start job A, lose the cargo to some mishap, start job B, deliver the cargo from job B to job A's destination, look for some more cargo to complete job B, etc.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Rowley
United Kingdom
Stafford
Staffordshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Firedrake wrote:
But it doesn't have to be the same 3 cargo. (So you can start job A, lose the cargo to some mishap, start job B, deliver the cargo from job B to job A's destination, look for some more cargo to complete job B, etc.)

Or if you happen to be Solid with Lord Harrow you could Buy replacement Cargo off him.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Wilkins
New Zealand
flag msg tools
Firedrake wrote:
But it doesn't have to be the same 3 cargo. (So you can start job A, lose the cargo to some mishap, start job B, deliver the cargo from job B to job A's destination, look for some more cargo to complete job B, etc.)


Does that mean that if you already have the cargo, you can work the start of the job, botch the misbehave, then say "screw this - they're getting our other cargo instead." ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roger BW
United Kingdom
High Wycombe
Buckinghamshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pmw57 wrote:
Does that mean that if you already have the cargo, you can work the start of the job, botch the misbehave, then say "screw this - they're getting our other cargo instead." ?
To complete the job and get paid, you need to do every stage on the card.

Let's say you're doing this job (in case the image goes away later, this is Amnon Duul's Courting Kerry):



To get paid, you must do these things in order:

* At Space Bazaar, load two Contraband onto your ship

* At Kerry, all in one action: pass a Misbehave, unload two Contraband from your ship, and attempt the Negotiate test

My point is simply that they don't have to be the same two Contraband.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simon Ses
Australia
Canberra
ACT
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pmw57 wrote:
Firedrake wrote:
But it doesn't have to be the same 3 cargo. (So you can start job A, lose the cargo to some mishap, start job B, deliver the cargo from job B to job A's destination, look for some more cargo to complete job B, etc.)


Does that mean that if you already have the cargo, you can work the start of the job, botch the misbehave, then say "screw this - they're getting our other cargo instead." ?


No. You have to successfully do each required step in the job. If it's a two step job, you need to successfully complete the first step, while meeting the job requirements. When you do step 2, again you have to successfully complete that step, while meeting the requirements. If you fail the misbehave, you fail the step. Between the two steps, you can do whatever you want - lose your ability to meet the requirements, lost the cargo etc. But when you get to step 2, you need to once again have all of the things you need to complete the step including the cargo and the ability to meet the requirements.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Ebert
United States
Cape Coral
Florida
flag msg tools
Solo Gamers are NOT lonely!
badge
Together We Game Alone (1 Player Guild)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rulebook specifically stats that you must take a work action at the first location of a job in order to even activate it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.