Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
15 Posts

Space Empires: 4X» Forums » Rules

Subject: Colony ships, Ship yards, + additional question "CP spened on upgrade" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can ship yards moce like any other combat ship?

Why does colony ship have a 5 on the back? When you are suppose to put a nr 1 on it when you flip it?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oliver Upshaw
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Colony ships, Ship yards
Unless you have the Empire Advantage “On the Move” from the Replicators Expansion Ship Yards cannot move.

The 5 on the back of the Colony Ship counter is to show that the colony is at full growth.

7.7 ADJUST COLONY INCOME A Colony must “grow” in order to reach its full capacity. At this point in the Economic Phase, all colonies are adjusted upwards to reflect this development. Colonies producing 3 CPs have their “3 Colony” counter removed to reveal the 5 CP on the Colony (the maximum size). Next, colonies producing 1 CP have the “1 Colony” flipped to a “3 Colony”. Finally, Colony Ships on planets are flipped to their Colony side and a “1 Colony” marker is placed on them. EXAMPLE: During movement, a player colonizes a planet by placing his Colony Ship on top of the planet. During the subsequent Economic Phase, that planet delivers no CP’s, but the counter is flipped to its Colony side. In the next Economic Phase, that Colony would be worth 1 CP when totaling income.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Re: Colony ships, Ship yards
Tolchock wrote:
Can ship yards moce like any other combat ship?

4.0 Movement wrote:
Bases and Ship Yards: Bases and Ship Yards cannot move.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Colony ships, Ship yards
Oliver Upshaw wrote:
Unless you have the Empire Advantage “On the Move” from the Replicators Expansion Ship Yards cannot move.

The 5 on the back of the Colony Ship counter is to show that the colony is at full growth.

7.7 ADJUST COLONY INCOME A Colony must “grow” in order to reach its full capacity. At this point in the Economic Phase, all colonies are adjusted upwards to reflect this development. Colonies producing 3 CPs have their “3 Colony” counter removed to reveal the 5 CP on the Colony (the maximum size). Next, colonies producing 1 CP have the “1 Colony” flipped to a “3 Colony”. Finally, Colony Ships on planets are flipped to their Colony side and a “1 Colony” marker is placed on them. EXAMPLE: During movement, a player colonizes a planet by placing his Colony Ship on top of the planet. During the subsequent Economic Phase, that planet delivers no CP’s, but the counter is flipped to its Colony side. In the next Economic Phase, that Colony would be worth 1 CP when totaling income.
Why the nr 5 token then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Re: Colony ships, Ship yards
Tolchock wrote:
Oliver Upshaw wrote:
Unless you have the Empire Advantage “On the Move” from the Replicators Expansion Ship Yards cannot move.

The 5 on the back of the Colony Ship counter is to show that the colony is at full growth.

7.7 ADJUST COLONY INCOME A Colony must “grow” in order to reach its full capacity. At this point in the Economic Phase, all colonies are adjusted upwards to reflect this development. Colonies producing 3 CPs have their “3 Colony” counter removed to reveal the 5 CP on the Colony (the maximum size). Next, colonies producing 1 CP have the “1 Colony” flipped to a “3 Colony”. Finally, Colony Ships on planets are flipped to their Colony side and a “1 Colony” marker is placed on them. EXAMPLE: During movement, a player colonizes a planet by placing his Colony Ship on top of the planet. During the subsequent Economic Phase, that planet delivers no CP’s, but the counter is flipped to its Colony side. In the next Economic Phase, that Colony would be worth 1 CP when totaling income.
Why the nr 5 token then?

Didn't 7.7 just explain it? 5 is the final CP value of the fully grown colony, after it's gone through its turns of producing 0 CP, 1 CP and 3 CP.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Colony ships, Ship yards
russ wrote:
Tolchock wrote:
Oliver Upshaw wrote:
Unless you have the Empire Advantage “On the Move” from the Replicators Expansion Ship Yards cannot move.

The 5 on the back of the Colony Ship counter is to show that the colony is at full growth.

7.7 ADJUST COLONY INCOME A Colony must “grow” in order to reach its full capacity. At this point in the Economic Phase, all colonies are adjusted upwards to reflect this development. Colonies producing 3 CPs have their “3 Colony” counter removed to reveal the 5 CP on the Colony (the maximum size). Next, colonies producing 1 CP have the “1 Colony” flipped to a “3 Colony”. Finally, Colony Ships on planets are flipped to their Colony side and a “1 Colony” marker is placed on them. EXAMPLE: During movement, a player colonizes a planet by placing his Colony Ship on top of the planet. During the subsequent Economic Phase, that planet delivers no CP’s, but the counter is flipped to its Colony side. In the next Economic Phase, that Colony would be worth 1 CP when totaling income.
Why the nr 5 token then?

Didn't 7.7 just explain it? 5 is the final CP value of the fully grown colony, after it's gone through its turns of producing 0 CP, 1 CP and 3 CP.
sorry I mixeed up, thought the 3 had a 5 on the back. Sorry for that
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So I have one more question.

On the economic sheet there is a row udner "Remaining CP" That say, CP spend on upgrade? Is this just for reminder to oneself? Becouse what I put in the "remaining" area should be transferd to "carry over from last round"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alexandre Boureau
France
Paris
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not really,
You spend upgrade CP during the move turns, not the eco phase.
So these should be noted behind remaining CP, and the carry over CP is the difference between the remaing CP and the CP spent.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Galdred wrote:
Not really,
You spend upgrade CP during the move turns, not the eco phase.
So these should be noted behind remaining CP, and the carry over CP is the difference between the remaing CP and the CP spent.
Wh what? this I have missed completly!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Galdred wrote:
Not really,
You spend upgrade CP during the move turns, not the eco phase.
So these should be noted behind remaining CP, and the carry over CP is the difference between the remaing CP and the CP spent.

Ehm can you point out this section in the rulebook. Cant find anything about spending CP outside Eco-phase
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stig Morten
Norway
Kvernaland
flag msg tools
Thunder Alley: Crew Chief Expansion - Coming soon to Kickstarter!
badge
Evil lurks here!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
9.10.4 in the basegame rulebook.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Harper
United States
Maricopa
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tolchock wrote:
Galdred wrote:
Not really,
You spend upgrade CP during the move turns, not the eco phase.
So these should be noted behind remaining CP, and the carry over CP is the difference between the remaing CP and the CP spent.

Ehm can you point out this section in the rulebook. Cant find anything about spending CP outside Eco-phase


Look at 9.10.4 Upgrades.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Viktor Karlsson Mantel
Sweden
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pavobueno wrote:
Tolchock wrote:
Galdred wrote:
Not really,
You spend upgrade CP during the move turns, not the eco phase.
So these should be noted behind remaining CP, and the carry over CP is the difference between the remaing CP and the CP spent.

Ehm can you point out this section in the rulebook. Cant find anything about spending CP outside Eco-phase


Look at 9.10.4 Upgrades.
Thank you! So this is not needed if I play with the Optional rule "Instant Thec upgrade" 15.1
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Harper
United States
Maricopa
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tolchock wrote:
pavobueno wrote:
Tolchock wrote:
Galdred wrote:
Not really,
You spend upgrade CP during the move turns, not the eco phase.
So these should be noted behind remaining CP, and the carry over CP is the difference between the remaing CP and the CP spent.

Ehm can you point out this section in the rulebook. Cant find anything about spending CP outside Eco-phase


Look at 9.10.4 Upgrades.
Thank you! So this is not needed if I play with the Optional rule "Instant Thec upgrade" 15.1


Yes, although personally I do not care to use it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Robinette
United States
West Point
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It gets a 1 (0 production immediately after founding), then after 1 production round at 1, flip to 3 for next, then take off for 5.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.