Gloomhaven» Forums » General

Subject: My first painted minis with base decoration rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Phil Greenfly
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello guys. Sorry for posting two posts with kinda similar content (miniatures) in quick succesion. I just want to share the final result of 5 finished miniatures - painted, based and varnished. Every starting character except for Spellweaver, she is still waiting for her base decoration.

Let me describe the process I went through as a complete beginner - it may help someone in the same position I am/was. Since I have not done base decoration before, I had to improvise. And improvise a lot. I have bought grass decoration with the idea of using it for every single miniature, but after finishing Brute, I figured it might seem a bit monothematic. That was the moment I let my creativity go wild. With no special materials, I grabbed things that have been lying around - drywall, wood filler, bamboo sticks, cardboard.... and to mix it all together, PVA glue and superglue did the job.

Let me say, these miniatures looked small when they first came out of the box. They became even smaller when I started painting them. And when I started decorating the base (with already painted minis), they became super tiny. Because I decided not to cut them off the base and reattach after the base has been decorated. It seemed like a lot of work and prone to a lot of potential failures. Even then I failed miserably multiple times, then I became more patient and careful to prevent unnecessary repainting of the minis. Shape, test fit, shape a bit more, glue on, tear off, throw away, start again. Rinse and repeat. Then paint. And paint.

Maybe my approach was not the common one (probably the opposite of that), but hey, I am very satisfied with the final result.