Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Legendary: A Marvel Deck Building Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Happy Hogan vs. Pagliacci rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt O
msg tools
Ran into an interesting scenario today. The mastermind was Pagliacci (from Champions) and one of the heroes was Happy Hogan (from Bomeconing). Pagliacci has two different master strike abilities depending on how many master strikes have occurred. However, Happy has an ability to KO master strikes from the deck before they’re played via Danger Sense. If he KOs a master strike, does that still count when determining which ability Pagliacci triggers?

Example: thee master strikes have been played already and one master strike is also in the KO pile having been KOed by Happy. So four total in the KO pile. If the fifth Master Strike is drawn from the deck on a future turn, does Pagliacci trigger the ability for four master strikes or for five?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Umbra0118 wrote:
If he KOs a master strike, does that still count when determining which ability Pagliacci triggers?

Looked it up, and it looks like the answer is yes, actually.

Quote:
Example: thee master strikes have been played already and one master strike is also in the KO pile having been KOed by Happy. So four total in the KO pile. If the fifth Master Strike is drawn from the deck on a future turn, does Pagliacci trigger the ability for four master strikes or for five?

Rules say:

Base Set rules, p. 10] [Do the effect. Once you do, wrote:
Put the Master Strike in the KO pile.

If the principle is that cards have no memory, and these are all in the same spot after resolving Hogan's ability, then you count even KO'd Master Strikes as Master Strikes which weren't KO'd for the purposes of counting. It's much more useful against Galactus or other Masterminds whose Master Strike effects don't end up in the KO pile.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls