Gloomhaven» Forums » General

Subject: New to the game! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adrian Sanchez
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Hello all! I'm new to the Gloomhaven community and looking forward to getting into this game. I have a few very basic questions that I'm assuming the answer to but just want to know for sure. I understand each character gets a modifier deck.. my question is you shuffle this deck right?

Also the starting level 1 ability cards, do you shuffle these also. And what do you do with the character tokens that come in the tuck boxes? Thank you to any and all that know the answers to my no on questions!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you get your own basic modifier deck (of 20 cards). You shuffle it before use. Afterwards, you only shuffle it when you draw specific cards (like the 2x and the miss cards).

You also get your starting hand of cards and you dont really need to shuffle them since you have access to all these cards during a mission (until they are discarded or loss). You also start with level X cards that you can swap out your level 1 cards with. Just make sure you adhere to the hand limit as noted on your character's sheet (its different for each character).

Your character tokens can be punched out and used to track various things. Some cards have ongoing effects so a token is required.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adrian Sanchez
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Oh ok great info... What do you mean tho that you start with Level x cards to start out... I thought when you first start playing you only can use level 1? And thanks for the reply

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Johnson
United States
Cedar Falls
Iowa
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
common rookie mistake that you may or may not be making: