Subject: Rating unpublished games??? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
ART DOMINGUEZ
United States
FLEMING ISLAND
Florida
flag msg tools
I'm new to BGG, so forgive me if this question is naive: But how can people give a rating (or be allowed to give a rating) to a game that has not been released yet?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
My name is
Belgium
Brussels
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
It's a very common question.

People are rating a game that hasn't been produced yet according to their expectations I guess.
Some (but not many), rate them because they playtested them or played a demo in a convention somewhere.

When the game is finally out, things are going back to normal with people rating the game according to what it really is, no worries.

The rating systems are showing a trend, nothing more.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shelby Babb
United States
Springdale
Arkansas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ultimately, you kinda' have to ignore ratings here.

Reviews? Comments? Sure, go crazy. But ratings don't mean much.

"This game has boobs! Yay! - 10"
"This game has boobs! Boo! - 01"
"This game with boobs hasn't even been released yet, so I'll balance the unreasonably high/low votes! - 01/10"
"I'm balancing the balancing! - 05"
"I vote 01 on every game! - 01"
"I'm a publisher of many well known games, and rate others' games poorly because. - 2"

Seriously. That's all happened. None of it is a joke.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ruescher
United States
West Milford
New Jersey
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Boobs, you say?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
My name is
Belgium
Brussels
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
thebobymon wrote:
Boobs, you say?

Yes, it's a essentially a boobs rating machine.

Now more seriously, I agree that the ratings are used by some to rate how a game fits their opinions (nudity, gender equality, religious/moral/political views, competition with a game they like etc..) rather than how a game actually plays.