Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Glass Road» Forums » Rules

Subject: When the production wheels move rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Crow
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
We are still confused by this. Apologies if it's been asked, and maybe we're just stupid. But...

How do the rules on page 7 restrict what is on page 4?

Page 4 says that you must move (you're not given an option) when the brown sector is 0.

Page 8 says as a restriction, you may not remove unless both 0 sectors are empty.

Page 7 says, "whenever both brown sectors of a Production wheel are empty at the same time, immediately rotate that wheel". That t seem like a restriction. Or even necessary. Since page 7's rule triggers when the right side is at 0, doesn't page 4 cover it? Is there some reason not to rotate the wheel per page 4?

Plus, the reworded "You may not rotate a Production wheel unless both brown sectors are empty." isn't a restriction, either. It's the compete rule, while page 4 has the partial rule. It seems to supersede page 4, unnecessarily as far as we can tell.

Unless we're misreading something.

Thanks for clarifying!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reverend Uncle Bastard
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Unapologetic Continual Troublemaker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You are just over-thinking this. One page 7/8 it is just making clear that both brown sectors on the same wheel must be empty for it to rotate. On page 4, where they are introducing the idea they only mention the one brown section, not both. Page 7 just clarifies that if you have max brick/glass that will "restrict" the turning of the wheel.

Are both brown sectors on the same wheel empty? If yes, rotate the wheel clockwise until at least one of the brown sectors contains a resource. It really is that simple.

Edit: Rereading your rather convoluted question I think you may have missed that if either brick or glass are full (i.e. filling the brown sector in their respective wheel) the resource wheel will not rotate even if the other brown sector is empty. Page 4 does not mention that. Page 7/8 introduces that "restriction".
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Chaffer
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Grand Rapids Area Boardgamers
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gislef wrote:
Page 8 says as a restriction, you may not remove unless both 0 sectors are empty.

It says "unless both brown sectors are empty."

It's important to realize that on each wheel, the brown sector is at 0 for the basic resources, and at 3 (full) for the manufactured resource. The vast majority of the time, you will have less than 3 of a manufactured resource, so as soon as all the basic resources on that wheel are at 1 or higher, the wheel rotates. Your workers are extremely eager to get things done, so as soon as they have the raw materials they use them. If you have at least 1 coal, 1 food, and 1 clay, then your workers will manufacture a brick.

Pages 7 and 8 describe the restriction to this, which is that if you already have 3 brick in this example, there's no room in the warehouse for a fourth, so the wheel does not rotate. Once you've spent the brick on something, there will be nothing in the brown sector, and the wheel will rotate again.

You're correct that the page 8 phrasing is the complete rule; it's just that half of the rule isn't applicable most of the time so the simpler version is provided on page 3.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
Canada
Campbell River
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If neither of the two production wheel arms has a resource in the space immediately to the clockwise side of it, then the wheel rotates until at least one of the arms has a resource in the space immediately to the "clockwise" side of it.

The same rule applies for both production wheels.

Another way to think of it: If there are resources to produce glass (i.e. none of the basic resources is at zero) then glass will be produced (the arms turn) unless there is no room to produce glass (your storehouse is full). Same for brick.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fridjof B
Norway
Tranby
Norway
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
oilerfan wrote:
If neither of the two production wheel arms has a resource in the space immediately to the clockwise side of it, then the wheel rotates until at least one of the arms has a resource in the space immediately to the "clockwise" side of it.

The same rule applies for both production wheels.

Another way to think of it: If there are resources to produce glass (i.e. none of the basic resources is at zero) then glass will be produced (the arms turn) unless there is no room to produce glass (your storehouse is full). Same for brick.


Or yet another way to put it: You turn the wheel whenever possible, but you never push resources to turn the wheel.
16 
 Thumb up
0.50
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrea Bampi
Italy
Padova
flag msg tools
badge
"Go suck yer blade!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
greetingsfrombergen wrote:
oilerfan wrote:
If neither of the two production wheel arms has a resource in the space immediately to the clockwise side of it, then the wheel rotates until at least one of the arms has a resource in the space immediately to the "clockwise" side of it.

The same rule applies for both production wheels.

Another way to think of it: If there are resources to produce glass (i.e. none of the basic resources is at zero) then glass will be produced (the arms turn) unless there is no room to produce glass (your storehouse is full). Same for brick.


Or yet another way to put it: You turn the wheel whenever possible, but you never push resources to turn the wheel.


By far the best answer cool
I simply imagine a (weak) spring connected to the wheel and constantly pulling clockwise. It works cool
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Crow
United States
Iowa City
Iowa
flag msg tools
Thanks, all!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.