Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Arquebus: Men of Iron Volume IV» Forums » Rules

Subject: Fire and Shock, One or the Other? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Thomas Kristjansen
Denmark
flag msg tools
It may just be the vestige of other rules systems that haunt me, but if my reading of the rules to Arquebus is right, a unit can move, shoot and shock in the same activation. Is this right, or is there any stipulation that a unit must choose between firing and shock?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
No, a melee-capable missile unit can do all three. Move close, fire a volley, then advance to combat.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Kristjansen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Stimpson
United States
Westminster
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bear in mind, a difference from Blood & Roses is that the deployed units in Arquebus differ from those purely missile or purely shock units in B&R, often consisting of pikemen or swordmen with a small number of arquebusiers or crossbowmen attached to the unit. So yes, they can move, fire and shock, but the fire value has a negative DRM to reflect the smaller number of missile troops in the unit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew W
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can units that begin an activation adjacent to the enemy and have previously been in Shock combat on earlier activations with them also fire, as long as they aren't Engaged?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ralph Shelton
United States
Renton
Washington
flag msg tools
Yes, as long as a unit is not Engaged it may fire and be the target of fire.

What occurred earlier in the game does not matter in this regard.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew W
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Ralph. Looking forward to getting Fornovo on the table later this month.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.