Dan Parr
England
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
We took the additional challenge on a quest which required us to take an escort to a certain tile type. The wording didn't specify that we had to end our movement there so we were unsure if we had to do so or if passing over that tile, en route to our destination, was enough to drop them off and complete the quest.
We decided to play it that we had satisfied the requirement when we entered the tile, so we flipped the card and also removed the -1 hex movement penalty as we continued on our way. Did we play this correctly?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Mariucci

Wisconsin
msg tools
designer
mbmb
Hi Dan, do you remember what Quest it was? I should look at the text.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Parr
England
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll search for the card shortly and give you the exact wording, but from memory I think it was an aid quest to escort halflings from a dwarven mine to a city. There was a challenge to take them from the city to any other dwarven mine in exchange for 2 luck stones per hero. We ended our turn on the city to complete the first part, as we wanted to spend our gold, but couldn't see anything in the rules or on the card that specified what counts as taking them to a place. There was a mine right next to the boss we were heading to kill, so we could have ended movement on the mine and moved onto the boss on the next turn, meaning it wasn't a huge difference. But to save the time we opted to count landing on the hex but not ending movement there, since we weren't interacting with the tile, just leaving the escorts behind.
The rules say you interact with quest locations in the event phase, but we weren't sure if taking an escort to a tile we chose was treated the same way as there was nothing there to interest with (no quest token, no city, etc).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Mariucci

Wisconsin
msg tools
designer
mbmb
Ahah! Got it!

Okay, so for these instances all that is required is to end your movement phase on a specific hex. So in this case, you could take the halflings to any mine location (sharing the same graphic as the aid requirement). There are 5 or 6 in the game if I remember correctly. So you could travel there and get rewards for each time you end movement on such a hex.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Chick
United States
Tujunga
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
I'm still unclear on the answer to this.

To satisfy the pick-up or drop-off requirement of an aid quest, do I have to end my movement in the designated hex? Or will passing through the designated hex satisfy the requirement to pick up or drop off the escortee?

-Tom
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nathan Loos

Wisconsin
msg tools
designer
End your movement.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.