Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Rising Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Seppuku effect on hostages and ronin rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you commit seppuku can you still take a hostage or hire ronin? It would seem that if you were dead you could not do those things.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Morrison
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mb
If you win the seppuku war advantage and choose to kill all of your figures, you can still take hostages or hire ronin if you win those advantages. If you were way overmatched in a province, winning seppuku and taking a hostage would be a good way to maximize your benefits of the battle.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrés Santiago Pérez-Bergquist
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, you can. It can help to think of your figures as leaders, backed by a vague faceless army that will lose without definitive advantages such as your figures or ronin.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arbitrary Ranger
United States
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes you can, you're still in the battle.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Leister
United States
Tacoma
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, win Seppuku, kill you figures, win hostages, take hostage and steal VP, win ronin to use your ronin, win the combat, win poet to get VP for your seppukued figures all in the same battle.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Dickson
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's helpful to think of the War advantages as only happening in the order they're printed as an abstraction for gameplay purposes. Thematically, everything is happening at once.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So if you try to commit seppuku and it is all happening at once, can someone then take you as hostage?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Stangier
Germany
Offenbach
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you win the bid on Seppuku and actually perform it, no.

For gameplay the war advantages happen one after the other, with previous war advantages affecting the later ones.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Duke
United States
Dayton
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DailyRich wrote:
It's helpful to think of the War advantages as only happening in the order they're printed as an abstraction for gameplay purposes. Thematically, everything is happening at once.


Not quite, because if I win and use Seppaku and you win hostages I have no figures to grab.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bobby Sanmiguel
United States
LAWRENCEVILLE
Georgia
flag msg tools
If you want to think about it thematically while our figures are the ones fighting for us we're still the leader of our clan. If all of your warriors commit seppuku then you as the leader are still alive and can take a hostage or maybe an opposing warrior gives himself up because he sees that your clan is more honorable.

It's easier just to not think about it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.