Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

HEXplore It: The Valley of the Dead King» Forums » Rules

Subject: Escort quests rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marco Davi
msg tools
I played a couple of times over the weekend anf of course got some questions. Some were already answered (thanks Jonathan for the involment and to all who helped us poor players). A couple still stand:

1. What happened in an escort quest if the escortee dies? Do I discard the quest and refill or do I wait the first chance to turn quests in (ie in a a city) before refilling? And what if this is part of a multipart quest (forgot the name sorry)?
2. This is mostly for checking: in a combat resolution is simultaneous, right? Does it mean that if a sapper sucks all energy points from an opponent and the opponent is performing an action that requires energy the action still goes through?
3. Bonus questions because not escort related: does increasing difficult level increment all damage, including damage from indirect sources like surrounded? What about the dead jex abilities? Suppose difficult is easy, does it mean it becomes 3 base damage (from surrounded at 2 + 1 for the difficulty level) plus 2 (1 + 1) every time the ability is rolled? That is quite brutal, especially at high diffulties!

I thought I had more doubts yesterday, but then I had a twilight imperium in the afternoon and now this is all it remains...

Anyway, so far I had a very good impression of the game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jonathan Mariucci

Wisconsin
msg tools
designer
mbmb
HHGTTG wrote:
I played a couple of times over the weekend anf of course got some questions. Some were already answered (thanks Jonathan for the involment and to all who helped us poor players). A couple still stand:

1. What happened in an escort quest if the escortee dies? Do I discard the quest and refill or do I wait the first chance to turn quests in (ie in a a city) before refilling? And what if this is part of a multipart quest (forgot the name sorry)?
2. This is mostly for checking: in a combat resolution is simultaneous, right? Does it mean that if a sapper sucks all energy points from an opponent and the opponent is performing an action that requires energy the action still goes through?
3. Bonus questions because not escort related: does increasing difficult level increment all damage, including damage from indirect sources like surrounded? What about the dead jex abilities? Suppose difficult is easy, does it mean it becomes 3 base damage (from surrounded at 2 + 1 for the difficulty level) plus 2 (1 + 1) every time the ability is rolled? That is quite brutal, especially at high diffulties!

I thought I had more doubts yesterday, but then I had a twilight imperium in the afternoon and now this is all it remains...

Anyway, so far I had a very good impression of the game!


Hello Marco, sure thing I can help with these.

1. Generally speaking Escorts are part of the optional challenge that makes up the Quest card and only appear on the white "Aid" quests. So long as you first complete the original requirement you can still turn in the quest for your Quest reward (located in the lower right hand corner of the card). Now if you attempt an Escort and fail to keep them alive, you simply lose the chance to get the bonus reward, but that frees you up to turn in the original Quest for the original reward.

2. Page 40 in the rule book covers the opponent phase of combat. Basically the players declare what they're doing in the first phase. Then in the second, the Opponent acts. On this page we find "If the ability rolled requires Energy, they spend the ability's Energy cost this phase." So that means that the Energy is spent before the Resolution phase where all other damage takes place. Hope that helps clear it up!

3. The difficulty bar damage boost applies only to damage that is listed as a number in the opponent's ability description. It does not increase damage that is nested into a condition (like Surrounded for instance).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.