Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The African Campaign: Designer Signature Edition» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rule question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Yves Lagimoniere
Canada
Calmar
alberta
flag msg tools
Can you please define the word "surrounded" as found in rule 7.4

Would it mean surrounded by ZOC?
Or could it be being unable to trace a supply back to Alexandria?

In our game, the 2NZ Division is alone in Tobruk and is scheduled for removal next turn.

In the attached example. Would the Kiwis be considered surrounded?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Eldard
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In your specific example, the 2NZ is neither surrounded nor out of supply, because Allied units may enter and exit Tobruk as long as it is in Allied control (12.1), and Tobruk is a source of Allied supply if friendly.

The scheduled withdrawal of the 2NZ division is not reliant on a roll to successfully withdraw from Tobruk because wherever it is on the map at the time of withdrawal, it is merely lifted from the map (7.2) unless it is surrounded (7.4). Being in or out of supply is not a factor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yves Lagimoniere
Canada
Calmar
alberta
flag msg tools
Thanks Bill,
That's exactly what I thought.

So what does constitute "surrounded"? It must be surrounded by ZOC's then right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bill Eldard
United States
Burke
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
iraque92 wrote:
Thanks Bill,
That's exactly what I thought.

So what does constitute "surrounded"? It must be surrounded by ZOC's then right?

That's my interpretation, yes, Yves. But your original question raises a good point -- they should've defined "surrounded" in the rules glossary for clarity.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Kranz
United States
Plano
Texas
flag msg tools
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct. Similar to the concept of isolation in wargames where units can not trace any sort of overland path whatsover that is free of enemy units and/or their zone of control. In other words, the unit can not get out of Dodge.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yves Lagimoniere
Canada
Calmar
alberta
flag msg tools
Thanks John!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.