Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Dark Gothic: Colonial Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Roaming / Replacing Cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rich
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all -

We played with the Colonial Horror expansion for the first time last night and ran into a question about the Roaming ability and replacing cards from the Center Line.

When you purchase and replace a card in the Center Line, are you supposed to "slide" the cards down towards the 6th spot, then add the new card to the 1 spot? The rules seem to indicate that you "replace" the card after it is acquired, as such, claiming it's spot in the line. That is how we were playing it.

What happened was the first 5 spots had less than desirable cards and we kept going after the "new" cards coming into the 6th spot. This led to roaming cards getting placed there on at least 4 occasions and then immediately walking into the Shadows.

Were we playing that correctly by replacing the spot the acquired card leaves, or should the Center Line and new cards be added to the "one" spot?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Eklund
Czech Republic
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dickb79 wrote:
Hi all -

We played with the Colonial Horror expansion for the first time last night and ran into a question about the Roaming ability and replacing cards from the Center Line.

When you purchase and replace a card in the Center Line, are you supposed to "slide" the cards down towards the 6th spot, then add the new card to the 1 spot? The rules seem to indicate that you "replace" the card after it is acquired, as such, claiming it's spot in the line. That is how we were playing it.

What happened was the first 5 spots had less than desirable cards and we kept going after the "new" cards coming into the 6th spot. This led to roaming cards getting placed there on at least 4 occasions and then immediately walking into the Shadows.

Were we playing that correctly by replacing the spot the acquired card leaves, or should the Center Line and new cards be added to the "one" spot?


1. No sliding, it's not Legendary.. just replace.. it's important for Mystery effects..

2. Cards go into Shadows at the end of the turn, so there's a chance to buy them. If they're on the 6th spot, tough luck.. cool

3. Yep, just replace.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chuck Hurd
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is intended that you replace the cards in their position. No sliding down the line. This mechanic makes it precarious to defeat that last card. You're playing Russian roulette on that spot. You have to think twice about it for sure. But it also makes the Hungry Dead much more valuable, which is typically an underused ability in our games. It succeeds in creating a risk/reward decision point.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.