Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
20 Posts

GKR: Heavy Hitters» Forums » Rules

Subject: How many weapons cards may be played? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ubergeek
United States
Washougal
Washington
flag msg tools
Be Happy in your Game!
badge
I spent 100 Geek Gold and all I got was this lousy overtext message!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules state:
Quote:
Note: A player may only play 1 type of Weapon Card per Combat Phase. However, you may play 2 Secondary Weapon cards as long as they are not the same Weapon.

Also noted it states:
Quote:
PLAYERS MAY NEVER PLAY THE SAME FACTION CARD TWICE IN A SINGLE ROUND.


So, may I play either of these combos?
1. one Primary and one Secondary Weapon card
2. two different Secondary Weapon cards

My confusion comes from the first rule that states you may only play 1 type of Weapon Card per combat, but the example on p.21 shows both a Primary and Secondary Weapon card being played.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marc Kaiser
Switzerland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
1 Primary, up to 2 secondary and 1 orbital.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Davis
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
I had the same question when playing my first couple of games. The wording in the rule book is a bit vague, At first we interpreted "any TYPE of weapon card" to mean that we could choose either a primary weapon or a secondary weapon (or two different secondaries), but not both. However, the accompanying illustration clearly shows both types in the firing line. So it would seem that by "type of weapon" they mean "weapon card of the same NAME".

So ultimately the maximum number of weapons one can play in combat is four. One primary, two different secondaries, and an orbital strike.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Cloutier
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Oh man! The picture on page 21 really throws a wrench into what seemed very clear on page 20. I didn't even notice that. Was it supposed to say "A player may only play 1 of each type of Weapon Card per Combat Phase.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Schneider
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Glad this was posted because it was definitely not written clear in the rules. we were playing it as only one type of weapon per combat-Primary or Secondary. And then if secondary was used, you may use two different types of weapons. Sounds like we have been wrong.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
More simply put, you can't play more then one copy of any given weapon card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Laudermilk
United States
Orange County
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Seemed clear to me:

Primary weapon
Secondary weapon A
Secondary weapon B
Orbital

Each card represents a weapon firing, and you can only shoot each weapon once in the phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Cloutier
United States
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I think this sentence on page 20 is causing the confusion:

"A player may only play 1 type of weapon Card per combat phase."

I know I interpreted it as being able to play EITHER Primary or Secondary with the additional rule that if you choose secondary you may play one of each secondary weapon.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ubergeek
United States
Washougal
Washington
flag msg tools
Be Happy in your Game!
badge
I spent 100 Geek Gold and all I got was this lousy overtext message!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
claudermilk wrote:
Seemed clear to me:

Primary weapon
Secondary weapon A
Secondary weapon B
Orbital

Each card represents a weapon firing, and you can only shoot each weapon once in the phase.


Well to confuse things even further, it could be Primary, Primary if both are different types. I first took "type" to mean type of delivery rather thank function of the weapon (primary/secondary). In other words, only one missile, one energy, and one direct fire type weapon.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Walt Mulder wrote:
Well to confuse things even further, it could be Primary, Primary if both are different types.

Only if you build an illegal deck...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ubergeek
United States
Washougal
Washington
flag msg tools
Be Happy in your Game!
badge
I spent 100 Geek Gold and all I got was this lousy overtext message!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
greyerlynx wrote:
I think this sentence on page 20 is causing the confusion:

"A player may only play 1 type of weapon Card per combat phase."

I know I interpreted it as being able to play EITHER Primary or Secondary with the additional rule that if you choose secondary you may play one of each secondary weapon.


We pLayed that you could fire one primary and one secondary weapon. On our first game we missed the part about two different secondary weapons. I might like your way better. I hope we get an official answer at some point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ubergeek
United States
Washougal
Washington
flag msg tools
Be Happy in your Game!
badge
I spent 100 Geek Gold and all I got was this lousy overtext message!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sdiberar wrote:
Walt Mulder wrote:
Well to confuse things even further, it could be Primary, Primary if both are different types.

Only if you build an illegal deck...


Yup, got confused which is why I didn't say that in the OP. Can't happen is a legal deck. Sorry.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy Bieri
United States
Oconomowoc
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
claudermilk wrote:
Seemed clear to me:

Primary weapon
Secondary weapon A
Secondary weapon B
Orbital

Each card represents a weapon firing, and you can only shoot each weapon once in the phase.


There is one more exception with Kickstarter exclusive...

Primary weapon
Secondary weapon A
Secondary weapon B
Orbital
Orbital Shock

I did see it described as possible to fire that at same time as regular Orbital card as they are different.
Therefore max number of weapons per round if all the stars align right is 5
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Wanamaker
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a sponsor card, "Double Shot," that allows you to play 2 of the same type of secondary weapon in a round, but that's the only exception.

Talked about in this post
https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/1939793/sponser-card-double...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ubergeek
United States
Washougal
Washington
flag msg tools
Be Happy in your Game!
badge
I spent 100 Geek Gold and all I got was this lousy overtext message!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So going back to the rules and my original post, I'm thinking that "type" means Primary or Secondary. Hence you could only fire either a Primary or a Secondsry weapon, not both.

Primary

OR

Secondary S(a) or S(b) or S(a) + S(b)

OR

if using Double Shot then potentially S(a) + S(a) + S(b) or vice versa (only one Secondary Weapon gets the Double shot advantage).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not true. Already answered by the developer here:

Re: Commonly overlooked and misunderstood rules

Quote:
You can fire one of each different weapon. So you could fire your primary once, your secondary A once, secondary B once and one orbital.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Schneider
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
So, with all this confusion, I think we're going to need a final rules answer from a designer or a hard source.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Muldoon (silentdibs)
United States
Astoria
New York
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Shem, who I just quoted, is the game's developer and wrote the rulebook.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Schneider
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
sdiberar wrote:
Shem, who I just quoted, is the game's developer and wrote the rulebook.


Yep, thanks. I posted that just as you posted the response
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ubergeek
United States
Washougal
Washington
flag msg tools
Be Happy in your Game!
badge
I spent 100 Geek Gold and all I got was this lousy overtext message!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
You can fire one of each different weapon. So you could fire your primary once, your secondary A once, secondary B once and one orbital.


Excellent. Thanks. That’s also in line with the example on p.21.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.