Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Rising Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Optional Sepukku rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Victor Kolbe
Brazil
Redwood City
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If you're the highest bidder on Sepukku, can you choose not to activate it? The rulebook has me believe that you can, but they never mention this specific example, and it seems odd to me.

(Also, can you activate a Betrayal even you know you won't be able to replace one or both of the figures for whatever reason?)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Marema
United States
Ellisville
MO
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it's completely optional and is something I've used to my advantage!
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerry Martin
United States
Loveland
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
1 Million Shogoths Killed and Counting.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Somewhere it does say something to the effect that you can win a bid and not use it just to block your opponent. (I think)
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrés Santiago Pérez-Bergquist
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Page 22, all war advantages are described as "may" and "if you do".
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Stangier
Germany
Offenbach
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rulebook specifically states that you can choose not execute a War Advantage that you won.
Quote:
Rulebook, page 22, Resolving Battles
Only the player who wins a War Advantage is allowed to execute it. However, the player may choose not to execute a War Advantage they won, in case they only wanted to win it in order to deprive another player of it.
In addition Seppuku states the player has a choice several times
Quote:
Rulebook, page 22, Seppuku
The player who wins Seppuku may choose to immediately kill all their figures in the Province. If they do so, ... If a player decides to perform Seppuku, ...


And yes, you can play Betray even if you can not replace any figures.
Quote:
Rulebook, page 18, Betray
When playing Betray, the player chooses up to 2 figures on the Map, ...
"Up to" means you can choose less or even 0.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Victor Kolbe
Brazil
Redwood City
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Should've thought so. Sorry about that. Thanks everyone!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Piti Auearunyawat
msg tools
I found that almost everything in this game is optional/flexibly. It is always You may do that or You allow to do that or You can do this up to X things. The only exception is gaining resource like VP, ronin or money that are mandatory.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.