Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Wing Leader: Victories 1940-1942» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can squadrons become flights due to losses? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Pete Wagner
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok I can't seem to find an answer to this question. If the max losses for a squadron is 8 and the max losses for a flight is 4 (as is common for Germans), what happens when a squadron has 4 losses? Does it become a flight or is it still a squadron?

The biggest reason I'm asking is because the rules already allow losses to potentially impact combat ratings with the Single Aircraft Formations rule [13.6]. It says:

"This rule also applies to squadrons that have taken losses such that they are just one away from reaching their Max Losses value [5.1]."

So, if a squadron (or flight) can be downgraded to a "Single Aircraft Formation" through losses, can a squadron be downgraded to a flight?

This could potentially have far reaching effects in the following circumstances:
1) A squadron takes 4 losses in its first combat (hey . . . I've had it happen) and manages to roll well on cohesion and is either disrupted or still in good order. In the next combat, being a flight will apply a -1 to its combat rating in addition to any disruption modifiers whereas still being considered a squadron would not accrue any negative modifiers (other than possible disruption).
2) A broken squadron is being harassed as it attempts to RTB and has already accrued 4 losses. In the future combats, will it just suffer the -1 for being broken or will it also suffer -1 for being a flight. NOTE that having 7 losses would cause the -1 for being a single aircraft formation per the above quoted rule.

It is worth noting the limited availability of flight counters. The rules specify that you cannot split squadrons if you do not have available flight counters . . . so maybe to avoid a conflict of no available flight counters at times, a squadron with half losses or more would still be a squadron.

So . . . what do you guys think?

Pete
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Severs
England
Birmingham
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not through casualties, no
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Wagner
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Foolish_Dog wrote:
Not through casualties, no


Is that because of a rule that I am missing, or because of an absence of the rule. Not trying to be picky . . . just wondering.

Pete
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harry Bosch
Netherlands
Rotterdam
ZH
flag msg tools
badge
In honour of the brave crew of Hr.Ms. Java 27-02-1942 † Battle of the Java Sea
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pwagn594 wrote:
Foolish_Dog wrote:
Not through casualties, no


Is that because of a rule that I am missing, or because of an absence of the rule. Not trying to be picky . . . just wondering.

Pete


Its the way the rules are written. If Lee would want you to downgrade the squadron into a flight the rules would state something like:

The max losses for an 8 strength squadron is 4 after which the squadron is considered to be a flight.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Brimmicombe-Wood
United Kingdom
Ely
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, losses do not turn squadrons into flights. As Harry noted, there's no rule for that.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Wagner
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great! Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.