Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Republic of Rome» Forums » Rules

Subject: Wars w Question Mark Armaments symbols rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lazarus Darkeyes
United States
Playa del Rey
California
flag msg tools
There are 5 wars that say 'if <province(s)> is "not yet a Province", treat [war] as Inactive' until the Revolution Phase'

1) If a Province has been conquered, and thus allied with, a different War, does it count for the sake of this [?armaments?] War? (The Province *WAS* created, it just is no longer under Roman control.)

2) If a Province has been converted to a War via the Internal Disorder event, does it count for the sake of this [?armaments?] War? (The Province *WAS* created, it just is no longer under Roman control.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cyprien Galan
France
Perpignan
Occitanie
flag msg tools
If you take the literal meaning of the card, gameplay-friendly : "not yet a province", when the province card is put on the game board, the province ( as an administrative precinct ) is immediately created and exists. It should activate the war anytime after this, as provinces once created do not cease to exist.

If you want a logical approach, lore-friendly : as wars are wars suffered by Rome, a war should activate only when Rome is in control of the target province.

*Edit* : After taking a look at the cards, it is clear they are intended to be treated as provinces only if Rome controls the provinces.
The same rules can be applied to "Revolt if [X] is a province".
Also, with the provincial wars rules, the province should be attacked by the war targeting that province. This means it is intended for the war to be able to attack the province during Roman control.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon Horne
United States
Whitehall
Michigan
flag msg tools
Mr. Axle can do all for you.
badge
Apologize again!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It counts in both cases.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.