Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark (Second Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pit Trap rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michał Woźniak
Poland
Warszawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
The card says:
"Play this card when a hero enters an empty space. He tests (Awareness). If he fails, he suffers 1 (Heart) and loses 1 movement point. If he has no movement points to lose (such as if he suffered fatigue to move), he is Stunned."

What if hero isn't moving using his move action, but using fatigue points?
a) he lose 1 move point - so actually nothing happens if hero won't be moving using move action
b) he lose 1 fatigue if has any fatigue left, if not then c)
c) he is stunned because he has only move points from fatigue ("standard" move points are "not activated" so hero has 0 move points in that moment)

We played c) because card says "If he has no movement points to lose (such as if he suffered fatigue to move), he is Stunned."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heroes do not move with fatigue. However, they may choose to convert fatigue into movement points during their turn. These movement points go into a so-called movement point pool and can be used from there to move the figure. A move action increases the movement points in the pool by the hero's speed value. At the end of the hero turn any movement points still in the pool are lost.

Whenever a hero is Pit-trapped, fails the test, and has no further movement points in his pool (regardless of the source), he is stunned.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michał Woźniak
Poland
Warszawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
I know they don't move with fatigue points - it's just a shorthand.

So, if hero has no fatigue tokens left, he's stunned?

Or, hero has to declare how many fatigue tokens he wants to convert to MP BEFORE the move? And:
- if overlord uses trap on the last declared move point, hero is stunned (if fails the test ofc),
- if before last move - hero stops 1 grid earlier?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Miszon wrote:
Or, hero has to declare how many fatigue tokens he wants to convert to MP BEFORE the move?

Again, a hero cannot move with fatigue. Therefore, he must convert fatigue to movement points before moving. He can do that in any way he wants, e.g. he can
- suffer 1
for 1 movement point then move 1 space. Rinse and repeat.
- suffer 3
to gain 3 movement points, spend 2 movement points to move, suffer another
to gain 1 more movement point etc.

Miszon wrote:
- if overlord uses trap on the last declared move point, hero is stunned (if fails the test ofc)

Yes, it the hero moves into an empty space with his last movement point currently in his movement point pool, he would be stunned.

Miszon wrote:
- if before last move - hero stops 1 grid earlier?

If the hero still has movement points in his pool when Pit Trap is played, he is not stunned. Note, that after Pit Trap has been played, the hero can suffer additional fatigue to generate movement points. However, that would not prevent him from being stunned.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michał Woźniak
Poland
Warszawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Sadgit wrote:
the hero can suffer additional fatigue to generate movement points. However, that would not prevent him from being stunned.
That's confusing. What's the poing generating additional MP if stunned and can't move?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Stunned prevents heroes from performing actions, suffering fatigue or spending movement points is not an action. It is possible to move even when stunned although this seems counter-intuitive.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michał Woźniak
Poland
Warszawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Whoa, that's really strange. So only immobilized prevents moving?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sadgit
Germany
flag msg tools
Descent 2nd Edition Community Rules Reference Guide
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When a hero is immobilized, his movement point pool is immediately set to zero. Further he cannot perform move actions or suffer fatigue to gain movement points. However, if he has other means to generate movement points (e.g. from items or skills), he can still use those movement points, as immobilized does not prevent that.

In addition, there are several abilities and effects that allow a hero to "move up to your speed" or "remove and place" hero figures. These abilities and effects are also not prevented by immobilized.

Maybe check the CRRG entry "Movement" for all details on the sometimes confusing possibilities to move figures in Descent.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Proto Persona
United States
N Richland Hills
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sadgit spent a lot of time making the CRRG, a really useful resource that has all of these answers in it in a nice searchable PDF.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michał Woźniak
Poland
Warszawa
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Great. Seems pretty useful. Thank you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.