Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Hannibal & Hamilcar» Forums » Rules

Subject: What is the effect of rule 15.1.8? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mattias Andersson
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
What is the purpose of rule 15.1.8? It seems to say the same thing as rule 15.1.1?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dinis B.
Portugal
flag msg tools
15.1.1 Refers to the movement from the battle space to a immediately adjacent space.
15.1.8 Refers to the last movement.

For example, if you retreat for three spaces:
Then, the second space might be either a friendly, a neutral or an enemy one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Andersson
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
This reading of the rules does not make sense. 15.1.2 uses the same wording as rule 15.1.1 but must refer to the final space of the retreat to make any sense at all. Further, rule 15.2.c contradicts your reading of rule 15.1.1.

It also would be quite a big rule change from the 2nd edition rules, and would have been clearly pointed out as such.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
WRS WRS
Poland
Ropczyce
Podkarpacie
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There is no change in this edition.
If you compare 15.1. from 2nd edition and whole 15.1. form this edition this is the same text.

This edition clears some sentences (adding extra numbers 15.1.1 till 15.1.8 makes it easier to discuss about rules). But you must remember that some sentences are just redundant. Wrote just to emphasis important rules.

So you are right 15.1.1 is repeated at 15.1.8 (like in 2nd edition)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mattias Andersson
Sweden
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
WRSZS wrote:
There is no change in this edition.
If you compare 15.1. from 2nd edition and whole 15.1. form this edition this is the same text.

This edition clears some sentences (adding extra numbers 15.1.1 till 15.1.8 makes it easier to discuss about rules). But you must remember that some sentences are just redundant. Wrote just to emphasis important rules.

So you are right 15.1.1 is repeated at 15.1.8 (like in 2nd edition)


Thank you for the clarification.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.