GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,494 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

War of the Suns» Forums » Rules

Subject: Questions about defensive reserve movement and related combat rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Willner
United States
Brooklyn
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The situation: Turn 0 of the campaign. The KMT has the activation and moved units into and adjacent to Shanghai to attack.

1) Japan used Defensive Reserve Movement from Western Pacific Holding Box, escorted by the IJN 3rd Fleet to land 5.5 SP of units into Shanghai. The Sea Transport is 7, and there’s an HQ in Shanghai. Is this a legal move?

2) The basic odds are 1:1, which includes both KMT units in and adjacent to Shanghai on the attack. Is this correct?

3) How does defensive terrain work? Does the attacker still suffer the negative column shift for the city even though there are KMT units in the city that are also attacking?

4) Is there any positive (helping the attacker) column shift because many Japan defenders landed amphibiously? All the shifts mentioned in the playaid assume an amphib attack, not defense.

5) The combat results were AR. I eliminated the KMT units inside Shanghai because they are in the same hex as enemy units who are exerting full ZOCs. Thus, thier retreat path would have to enter an EZOC. The friendly units (the adjacent attacking KMT units) do not negate the EZOCs of the Japan units in Shanghai. Is this correct?

6) In exchange type combat results is the CS of the defender calculated by the AS factors or DS factors?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonard To
Hong Kong
Wanchai
n/a
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
BrooklynMike wrote:
The situation: Turn 0 of the campaign. The KMT has the activation and moved units into and adjacent to Shanghai to attack.

1) Japan used Defensive Reserve Movement from Western Pacific Holding Box, escorted by the IJN 3rd Fleet to land 5.5 SP of units into Shanghai. The Sea Transport is 7, and there’s an HQ in Shanghai. Is this a legal move?

>>Yes it is.


2) The basic odds are 1:1, which includes both KMT units in and adjacent to Shanghai on the attack. Is this correct?

>>can't tell unless I know the units involved.

3) How does defensive terrain work? Does the attacker still suffer the negative column shift for the city even though there are KMT units in the city that are also attacking?

Unit in the same hex of attacked unit does not negate the terrain effect.

4) Is there any positive (helping the attacker) column shift because many Japan defenders landed amphibiously? All the shifts mentioned in the playaid assume an amphib attack, not defense.

>>A stack of units is cut off if all the adjacent hexes (excluding those which no unit in the stack can enter) are in enemy ZOC and not occupied by friendly/allied units which are themselves not cut off. Units attacking cut off units benefit from a 1-column shift in their favor.

5) The combat results were AR. I eliminated the KMT units inside Shanghai because they are in the same hex as enemy units who are exerting full ZOCs. Thus, thier retreat path would have to enter an EZOC. The friendly units (the adjacent attacking KMT units) do not negate the EZOCs of the Japan units in Shanghai. Is this correct?

>>Correct.

6) In exchange type combat results is the CS of the defender calculated by the AS factors or DS factors?

>>DS factor
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.