GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,570 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Empires & Alliances» Forums » Rules

Subject: Reposting Q&A on Combat Results from ConSimWorld rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paul Popejoy
United States
Potomac Falls
Virginia
flag msg tools
GWX Dev Team
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The following question on Combat Results is over at ConSimWorld:

Rule 13.73

Quote:
In the example, what is the fate of the defending 3-5-3 INF XXX? Must it retreat, too?

Answer: The 3-5-3 INF XXX does not retreat.

Quote:
If the same defending stack is attacked as a whole and receives the ND result, is the stack forced to retreat or not ?

In the 13.73 example, the attacker did attack the defending stack as a whole (just one attack).

The defender chose to have the 3-3-3 artillery unit defend together with the 4-6-4 INF XXX [as one unit - ed.] (per Rule 13.62). The ND combat result required the defender to lose 6 defense factors. The defender chose to eliminate the 4-6-4 INF XXX. Since the 3-3-3 artillery unit was defending together with the 4-6-4, it is retreated and demoralized. The 3-5-3 INF XXX was not defending together with the 4-6-4; so, it does not retreat.

Generally on ND results, no units retreat. This is a special case resulting from Rule 13.62. If the defender had not chosen to have the artillery unit defend together with the 4-6-4 [as one unit per §13.62- ed.], then it would not have had to retreat. But then the attacker could have attacked the artillery unit separately at high odds and probably eliminated it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.