GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,436 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
14 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Unbroken» Forums » Rules

Subject: Armored condition / wound effect (print and play) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: printAndPlay [+] beta [+] [View All]
Rebecca/Greg Strang/Principato
United States
Naperville
IL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Armorered condition states “Ignore the next 2 wound effects you would suffer.” I assume this too only apply to loss of small effort.

Is that correct? If not, what is a wound effect in the context of the player?

How does this condition interact with the “reduce” effect?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crazed Survivor
France
flag msg tools
The Orzhov welcome you. Please leave your belongings with the Obzedat. They are not yours anymore.
badge
Hi, I'm a european crested tit, and a very small punk rocker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Wound refers to the effect of a monster's dice roll. Ignore those that are called "Wound". Works the same for effects that protect you from "Daze" or "Disarm"
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Artem Safarov
Canada
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Check out Unbroken: solo game of survival and revenge.
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's take the Bugbear monster as an example.

His combat actions on rolls 2 or 3 result in Wound effects - these can be ignored using the Armored condition.

It would not work on rolls of 4,5 or 6 (note that #6 would result in a Daze effect that does reduce a Large effort to Medium)

Hope this clarifies.

Raz, thanks for jumping in - your response is also correct.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rebecca/Greg Strang/Principato
United States
Naperville
IL
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you both! I did not connect the wound keyword on the monster attack with the keyword on the condition. That was an oversight on my part which is incredibly obvious now.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriel Mnt
Romania
flag msg tools
I'm a bit confused about the Bugbear's special. Does it refer to the player inflicting one less wound under 4 hp or does it refer to the monster doing 1 less wound under dice roll of 4? Either one of the 2 above, or I got this completely wrong...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dustin Schwartz
United States
Jackson
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
www.therulesforge.com
badge
Get your slimy, webbed phalanges off ma boots!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DraWithPixels wrote:
I'm a bit confused about the Bugbear's special. Does it refer to the player inflicting one less wound under 4 hp or does it refer to the monster doing 1 less wound under dice roll of 4? Either one of the 2 above, or I got this completely wrong...


It refers to your attacks, not the Bugbear's. Each of your attacks has a given "power," based on which weapon you are using. Bugbear is a stout fella, so if you're attacking him and your power is only 1–3, your attack inflicts 1 less wound than normal.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crazed Survivor
France
flag msg tools
The Orzhov welcome you. Please leave your belongings with the Obzedat. They are not yours anymore.
badge
Hi, I'm a european crested tit, and a very small punk rocker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FreedomGunfire wrote:
DraWithPixels wrote:
I'm a bit confused about the Bugbear's special. Does it refer to the player inflicting one less wound under 4 hp or does it refer to the monster doing 1 less wound under dice roll of 4? Either one of the 2 above, or I got this completely wrong...


It refers to your attacks, not the Bugbear's. Each of your attacks has a given "power," based on which weapon you are using. Bugbear is a stout fella, so if you're attacking him and your power is only 1–3, your attack inflicts 1 less wound than normal.


That is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriel Mnt
Romania
flag msg tools
Razoupaf wrote:
FreedomGunfire wrote:
DraWithPixels wrote:
I'm a bit confused about the Bugbear's special. Does it refer to the player inflicting one less wound under 4 hp or does it refer to the monster doing 1 less wound under dice roll of 4? Either one of the 2 above, or I got this completely wrong...


It refers to your attacks, not the Bugbear's. Each of your attacks has a given "power," based on which weapon you are using. Bugbear is a stout fella, so if you're attacking him and your power is only 1–3, your attack inflicts 1 less wound than normal.


That is correct.


So I attacked him with a knife, using 1 small effort, for 1 wound...I assume that would be a miss. Oh well, guess I`m dead then
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Crazed Survivor
France
flag msg tools
The Orzhov welcome you. Please leave your belongings with the Obzedat. They are not yours anymore.
badge
Hi, I'm a european crested tit, and a very small punk rocker!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DraWithPixels wrote:
Razoupaf wrote:
FreedomGunfire wrote:
DraWithPixels wrote:
I'm a bit confused about the Bugbear's special. Does it refer to the player inflicting one less wound under 4 hp or does it refer to the monster doing 1 less wound under dice roll of 4? Either one of the 2 above, or I got this completely wrong...


It refers to your attacks, not the Bugbear's. Each of your attacks has a given "power," based on which weapon you are using. Bugbear is a stout fella, so if you're attacking him and your power is only 1–3, your attack inflicts 1 less wound than normal.


That is correct.


So I attacked him with a knife, using 1 small effort, for 1 wound...I assume that would be a miss. Oh well, guess I`m dead then


Your splattered brains look good as a decoration on bugbear's hut's wall.
I hope you'll find solace in that.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.