Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

The City of Kings» Forums » Rules

Subject: Hounds! rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
andy bush

London
London
msg tools
mb
Hey if a creature places hounds but then that creature is killed what happens to its poor hounds? Do they go too? Are they adopted?


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Piland
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
They just wait <insert Futurama gif>.

You could always go put them out of their misery, but unless you move your workers on to their tile (trapping them there), the hounds will not do anything until another creature appears with the Hounds ability.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
andy bush

London
London
msg tools
mb
Ha ha ok so they just stay put! Ace. Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Philipp Hinrichsen
msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Well they might get adopted
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russell Corbally
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If another creature with hounds ability comes around, the hounds will move again...
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank West
England
Bristol
flag msg tools
designer
Lover and creator of immersive games, join the adventure!
badge
Lover and creator of immersive games, join the adventure!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
russonc wrote:
If another creature with hounds ability comes around, the hounds will move again...


Which is the best case scenario for the hound! Otherwise it's s sad story
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
andy bush

London
London
msg tools
mb
At this point I’d like to openly encourage some fan fiction about the hounds and what happens to them after their original master sadly dies. I’d like to think that they’d leave the path of evil / destruction and maybe help out on a farm or something?
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
Definitely this! I picture them having adventures, chasing cats, stealing chickens, just generally having a fine old time of it. Then a creature comes along sauron and they're hypnotised to their bloodthirsty bidding again devil

In fact, this should be an expansion - playable hounds.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wesley Chan
Canada
Richmond
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Bush1234 wrote:
Definitely this! I picture them having adventures, chasing cats, stealing chickens, just generally having a fine old time of it. Then a creature comes along sauron and they're hypnotised to their bloodthirsty bidding again devil

In fact, this should be an expansion - playable hounds.


The hound could start a family and expand into other tiles terrorizing (ie. trapping) any workers insight just like any normal dogs to delivery men/women.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
andy bush

London
London
msg tools
mb
Ok Frank I think we’ve sorted the game’s first expansion for you. ‘The Hound Adventures’
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank West
England
Bristol
flag msg tools
designer
Lover and creator of immersive games, join the adventure!
badge
Lover and creator of immersive games, join the adventure!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
buschenfeld wrote:
Ok Frank I think we’ve sorted the game’s first expansion for you. ‘The Hound Adventures’


You joke... But I do like the idea of expanding on small back stories and situations with our small game range. This could happen one day
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriel Palumbi
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
Question about hound movement for clarification purposes.

From the quick reference.

Hounds
If there are Hounds on the board:
Move the Hounds 1 tile towards the closest worker, ignoring any
workers located in The City of Kings. If 2 workers are at an
equal distance, then you may choose which worker the Hound
move towards.

So, as long as there is a creature on the board with the hound ability, the hound will continue to move 1 tile each round toward the closest worker?

Does hound movement take place on the creature activation phase?

Also, If the creature that originally spawned the hound dies, and a new creature is spawned, but without the hound ability, does the hound still stay put? Or is a new creature enough to get the hound moving again.

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Frank West
England
Bristol
flag msg tools
designer
Lover and creator of immersive games, join the adventure!
badge
Lover and creator of immersive games, join the adventure!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey Gabriel,

The hounds will move when a creature with the hounds ability activates.

So if you have Creature A, and it has the hounds ability, on it's turn the Hounds token will move.

If Creature A dies, the hounds remain on the board but no longer move.

If Creature B is placed on the board and does not have the hounds ability, then the hounds will continue to do nothing but sit there.

If Creature C is palced on the board and does have the hounds ability, then the hounds will start moving again.

If there are 2 creatures with the Hounds ability, then they will move twice per round.

I hope that helps clarify the situation!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.