Iain
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
My Background: I’m a solo gamer who will try anything, but mostly tend towards medium/heavy Euro games. I have been gaming since 2016. While my opinions are often skewed towards the solitaire gamer; I do try to take a wider view of any game or expansion.

Opinion of the Base Game
As this is an expansion, it is worth noting my opinion of the base game as a frame for this review. Spirit Island is one of two games I currently rate as a 10/10. I love the decision making; the complexity; and the variability which comes from the range of spirits, adversaries and scenarios. It works brilliantly playing as a single spirit for a quicker game, or two spirits for a longer, deeper game. As of writing this review I have played the game 32 times.

Overview
This is a ‘mini’ expansion for the game Spirit Island, which comes with two spirits. As with the rest of the spirits, these provide a unique way to approach the game. They are compatible with the base game or the expansion, and work at any number of players.

They are currently available from Greater Than Games directly, or via the BGG Store. They retail for $10 plus shipping.

What You Get
In non-descript plastic wrap you will get two spirit boards and eight cards, giving all the components you need for two new spirits. There are no other additions to any part of the game. Given the typical mini-expansion in the $5-$10 price range is a handful of cards, in my opinion this represents good value for money.

How it Plays
The two spirits are considered ‘High Complexity’ (one says Medium on the final board, but the designer said they believe it should be High). Paraphrasing one of the developers, a High Complexity spirit includes the following:

Quote:
* Special rules dramatically change how the player interacts with the game.
* The spirit will almost certainly have a mechanical drawback.