Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

2019: The ARCTIC» Forums » Rules

Subject: Timing on sea sector control and attacking plaform rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
sgc0875
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Played our first game of this (finally) last night. 4 player game and was very fun - winner won by 10 pts with the EU controlling the pole and him having 3 lobbyists in EU for 30 pts (4th lobby spot stays)!

Question around timing of sea sector control and attacking a platform:

Law A is in effect (ships control sea sectors). EU has control of sector, which has a legal platform built and 1 EU ship. USA (who is in conflict with EU), moves 3 ships into sea sector. The 3 USA ships attack the 1 EU ship, resulting in 2 USA ships left in sector.

Does the sea sector now immediately go to USA control and thus CANT attack the platform...or does the USA attack the platform first, destroying it (strength of 2 vs 1), then take control of the sea sector (now with no platform) with 2 ships.

Thanks in advance!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrzej Kurek
Poland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
See the last indention on the page 13 of the manual:

As a result of a new applicable law or ship movements, it is possible that platforms (legal or illegal) may be in sectors controlled by new countries. All such platforms are destroyed: remove their markers from the map. This does not apply to platforms which are protected by lobbyists (see "Lobbyist
reassignment" - Political protection of platform).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
sgc0875
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. So...in this sense...you can destroy a platform with only a strength of 1. Because of the other rules - I would have never applied that process!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrzej Kurek
Poland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Btw - see also this thread:

[link=https://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/1411079/politically-pro...]
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.