1 Posts

Cosmic Eidex» Forums » Reviews

Subject: Not that tough, actually... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Breno K.
Distrito Federal
flag msg tools
[sorry if there are a few "weird sounding" sentences in here: English is not my first language]

I'm new at playing modern boardgames, so this review is hardly from a trick-taking expert (I've only 1 match of Tichu and a couple of Mü under my belt; I can't compare this to Jass or Skat) or THE boardgaming veteran. What I'll write here are mostly my impressions of this game(no details on the rules of it: you can find that in other reviews), and how I feel it's actually not that crazy.

I bought this game on a whim. A friend of mine was passing through Germany and I asked him to buy a few cardgames for me (easy to carry). This was one of them. A fellow boardgaming enthusiast here in Brasília had mentioned this is by far the most absolutely crazy-insane-bizarre card game in the world. I, of course, was curious, so I added "cosmic eidex" to the small list I e-mailed to my europe-visiting friend. Once it arrived I downloaded the english translations (that won't fit in the box soblue ) and asked the fellow who had already played it to teach me the game (always better than figuring it out by the rules alone).

We couldn't stop laughing in the first match. One of them got the Ace of Lizard power (you can switch your hand with an opponent if he/she agrees with you) and they kept switching it almost randomly. At the end of the game, however, I had a suspicion: this game isn't as tough as it looks.