Falling Sky: The Gallic Revolt Against Caesar» Forums » General

Subject: Musing on the Non-Player Bots rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jay I

Pennsylvania
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey everyone. I'm pretty new to the COIN series but it has fast become one of my all-time favorite game experiences. I've played Falling Sky and a good bit of Liberty or Death (I own Pendragon, too, but it remains unopened still). I'm mostly a solo gamer by both necessity and preference, and I like to play it the pure way with one faction vs 3 bots.

I've noticed that the Falling Sky bots strike me as just a bit underwhelming compared to the LoD bots who always seem to keep the game tight and tense. I think part of this may just be a function of the design differences between the two games -- in LoD you are a lot more dependent on having a reliable ally and the bots aren't always so mindful of that. But overall I've found the Falling Sky bots to be a bit passive and somewhat easy to manipulate. They tend to want to sit around marshaling up all of the forces and slowly picking away at tribes with no real sense of urgency to meet their victory conditions. The Romans are a little more aggressive, but their march command is always one of the trickiest to execute and I rarely feel confident that I'm doing it correctly. Even once the Romans get moving, it's still fairly easy to outmaneuver them in the long game.

I have already preordered the expansion which I understand will include a revamped bot system. For now I'm just wondering if (1) anyone else has had a similar experience relative to the bots in LoD, (2) if anyone has any house rules or variants that help to spice things up a bit, and (3) how the bots in Pendragon compare.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Crawford
United States
San Francisco
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb