Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Raiders of the Deep: U-boats of the Great War, 1914-18» Forums » Rules

Subject: Chart (U1) combat modifiers rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Josh Conner
United States
Medford
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Two questions regarding the "to hit" modifiers:

1) Do the -1 to hit modifiers for night fire and holding the HH decoration apply to using the deck guns?

2) On chart U1 the -1 to hit modifier is for holding the PLM decoration, however in the rule book the -1 modifier is given for holding the HH decoration. I'm assuming the rulebook is correct?
4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Cooper
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Josh,

Good questions.

1. That first modifier on chart U1 (Night or Unescorted Surface Torpedo) only applies to torpedoes. The idea behind this is that the torpedo wake is harder to spot at night and thus harder for a ship to avoid. For unescorted ships, it factors in poorer training of freighter watch crews, or the possibility that this is a "coup de grace" for an already stopped and de-crewed freighter.

2. Good catch. The rulebook is correct. As you say, the second modifier on Chart U1 (KMDT Holds Pour le Merite) should read "KMDT holds House Order of Hohenzollern (HH)" and it applies to both guns and torpedoes. I'll add a note to the errata.

If it's a night surface attack on escorted ships, remember that you can only use torpedoes (per 9.3.1) - the idea being that firing guns would give away your position to the escorts.

Hope this helps.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh Conner
United States
Medford
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Great! Thanks for the clarification, and thanks for designing the game! It is very enjoyable, and has enticed me to learn more about this interesting aspect of World War 1.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Carey
United States
West Coast
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good catch, Josh.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete D
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
I just wanted to make sure that if I fire 2 salvos during a night surface attack I would use the +1 Second Salvo Torpedo and not apply the -1 Night Torpedo modifier.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Cooper
United States
Silver Spring
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi Peter,

Good question. You'd use just the -1 for the night surface torpedo for the first salvo (bow torpedoes), then, during the second salvo (aft torpedoes) you'd apply both the -1 for the night surface torpedo and the +1 for the second salvo torpedo (rule 9.5.2 goes into more detail on this). In this particular case, these modifiers cancel each other out during the second salvo. The advantage for a surface attack at night is canceled out by the added difficulty of the second salvo.

Hope this clears things up.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete D
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmb
Yes, thank you Ian.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.