Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Through the Ages: A New Story of Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: Military card limit? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tarık Zeytinci
Turkey
flag msg tools
Hello, how many military cards do we have in hand? Sometimes I get 10 military cards, is this normal? Because those who attack in this way have no chance of winning. I can easily defend myself for having too many military cards. This seems to me wrong.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Kyo
Japan
Osaka
flag msg tools
Forward 1, Forward 2, Forward 3... siege attack 5?
badge
Why for this life there's no man smart enough, life's too short for learning every trick and bluff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You discard down to your hand size, which is your military action total, then draw up to a maximum of 3 cards at the end of each turn (less, if you have less military actions remaining).

You can only use a number of military cards equal to your military action total in defence.

If you have 10 military cards, you either have 7+ military actions, or an event allowed you to draw more. That many military cards does mean you are well protected against aggression, unless someone massively outclasses you in military.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ido Abelman
Israel
Hod Hasharon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Both your civil cards hand and your military cards hand are limited to the amount of matching actions you have (the library of Alexandria wonder increases both limits). Those limits are observed in pretty different ways however.

The civil card limit is a limit you can't ever pass, you are not allowed to take more civil cards if you are at the limit (and you can't just discard any, that's why it can be dangerous to take technology you might end up not using).

The military card limit is only observed during your production phase as summarized on your player sheet - first "discard excess military cards" (discard to hand limit) tham "draw new military cards" (up to 3, according to remaining military actions). So it's pretty likely you'll end your turn with up to 3 military cards over the limit. Events might get you even more.

Note however that having a lot of military cards is helpful to defense but it's not all. For every aggression you can only discard a maximum amount of cards equal to your military actions total. That maximum counts both the defense/colonization cards used for their bonus and other cards used for +1 defense. Having many military cards can help you have many defense/colonization cards and to not deplete your hand after an aggression, but you are still somewhat limited in the defense strength you can get.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sonny A.
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Benkyo wrote:
You can only use a number of military cards equal to your military action total in defence.


This is an important rule. Sounds like OP is not aware of this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.