Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Enemies of Rome» Forums » Rules

Subject: Catapults and Forts rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joel Toppen
United States
Gallup
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Preorder Navajo Wars by GMT Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
How these work is not well explained in the rulebook.

Questions:

1. Do catapults roll dice like a cube (in addition to their role in negating fort)?

2. Can either of these be taken as a loss in lieu of a cube?

3. Can either of these control territory?

Thanks!

-Joel
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Toppen
United States
Gallup
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Preorder Navajo Wars by GMT Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joel_m_toppen wrote:
How these work is not well explained in the rulebook.

Questions:

1. Do catapults roll dice like a cube (in addition to their role in negating fort)?

2. Can either of these be taken as a loss in lieu of a cube?

3. Can either of these control territory?

Thanks!

-Joel



I found the answer regarding Catapults: YES, they are just like any other cube.

Still not sure about Forts.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chuckster williams
United States
Ohio
flag msg tools
mb
Where did you find that answer?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I seem to recall that they are both just like cubes that impart special bonuses. I think I inferred that, so I could be wrong. Why you would take them as losses instead of cubes is beyond me based on my inference.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joel Toppen
United States
Gallup
New Mexico
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Preorder Navajo Wars by GMT Games
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
phuloivet wrote:
Where did you find that answer?


It was tucked away in top-left paragraph on page 5.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rolland Beach
United States
Viroqua
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would not make that inference- that section of the rules is covering movement and in the rules for combat the siege train is only listed as negating the double die per unit of the defender in a fort.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee a.k.a. "Loyal Lee"
United States
Bowie
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
I am called Huginn..., or is it Muninn..., I forget...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Based on Grant's answers in the other threads, I'm assuming that forts and catapults represent benefits (effects) and that they're not units (cubes) per se.

In one thread, Grant said that if the last defending cube is eliminated in an area with a (defending) fort counter, the fort counter is eliminated.

I'm assuming that applies to catapults too (if your attack goes badly awry).

Hopefully we'll get a definitive answer soon.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, I am getting the impression that I was completely wrong. Good thing I am used to it.

Edited to fix two typos and to emphasize that I thought they were treated like units, which looks like it might be wrong - They might just be "enhancements".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Osprey
United States
West Virginia
flag msg tools
badge
Errg...Argh..
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
martimer wrote:
Yeah, I am getting the impression that IO was completely;y wrong. Good thing I am used to it.


What does this mean? IO?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Gallo
United States
O'Fallon
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
That I was having a bad day. I have problems with my hands, and I did not proofread my post.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
grant wylie
United States
va. beach
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes to all. First paragraph on page 5, "a catapult counts as a legion"

Thanks,
Grant
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
grant wylie
United States
va. beach
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
mbmbmbmbmb
For forts the answer is No, only catapults.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rolland Beach
United States
Viroqua
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the clarifications!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.