Mak Haz
msg tools
I am new to board games. I apologize beforehand if this question or anything I say here is stupid. I have played only Pandemic, Ticket To Ride, and Splendor so far (and love all 3). I am thinking of getting an area control game next. My choices are limited because in my country not many board games are available. They have only the most popular board games. Otherwise they ship from the US but shipping costs a lot almost making them not affordable. Right now both Small World and Five Tribes are available at an affordable price. So I am thinking of getting one of them.

Both of them have high ratings and great reviews and so I am torn which one to get. On the one hand I would like a game that's not too complicated, since I am a beginner; on the other hand I want a game that has replay value, not something which ceases to be fun after playing for a couple of times. Which one would you suggest I get and why?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeni Dimitrov
msg tools
mb
Five tribes is not area control, but is much better game.Both games are good with all number of players.Small world has a lot of races and skills to be remembered, and has a ton of set up, and has a PC/APP variant with is better and faster
Five tribes is your choice .Also you do not need easier game because you are new to board games, you are either smart enough to play the more complicated games, or you are not.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David B
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Five Tribes is the better game. And it’s not hard to learn especially if you watch a video first.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yours Truly,
United States
Raleigh
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
There must have been a moment at the beginning, where we could have said no. Somehow we missed it. Well, we'll know better next time.
mbmbmbmbmb
max8945 wrote: