Johan K.
msg tools
Hi all,

We have the following situation. Quest 19 was completed by quest 98.
This made the staging of quest 23 difficult, because we don't know where to put the quest item. Please read the spoilers for more information:

Spoiler (click to reveal)

Quest 19: This quest is completed because the last shield is killed by the explosion of quest 98 since the shield is within range of the explosion.
Quest 98: The bomb explodes because a third counters is placed on it.
Quest 23: The interceptor has to be placed within range of the person completing the quest. But due to these chain of events, no-one has completed the quest.


So basically, what do you do when the staging of a quest is based on the location of one of the survivors that completed the quest, but the quest was actually not completed by the survivor. How do you place the item? The placement of the quest item was very relevant to the game state.

Thanks in advance for your answers!

Kind regards

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Pownall
United States
California
flag msg tools
Though this case is not specifically included in the rules, most conditional determinations are First Player related:

RR P2 Foundational Rules - "If two players are both legal targets for a game effect, the game prioritizes the first player, and then each player in order clockwise around the table from the first player."

RR P3 Activating Enemies - "If the enemy could move to multiple spaces that would move it toward the survivor an equal amount, the first player chooses which space it moves to."

RR P6 Enemies - "If there is more than one space with a matching enemy type at an equal distance from the space that contained the discarded token, the first player chooses from among those spaces."

RR P9 Killed - "If there is more than one space with a matching enemy type at an equal distance from the space, the first player chooses which space to place the enemy in."

RR P12 Rounds - "If the order in which enemies of the same type activate becomes important, the first player decides the order."

So if this happened in my game I would place the quest marker 3 spaces away from the First Player, or let the First Player choose the placement.

Then again...

Card 023 is staged after you complete the 2nd option on Card 019, "Kill the last (Security) on the map." A Survivor would normally be in the same space as an enemy to kill it (provided there were no ranged affects involved), so you could also just place the quest marker 3 spaces from the corpse.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael McLean
United States
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DumbDumbFace wrote:

Card 023 is staged after you complete the 2nd option on Card 019, "Kill the last (Security) on the map." A Survivor would normally be in the same space as an enemy to kill it (provided there were no ranged affects involved), so you could also just place the quest marker 3 spaces from the corpse.

If a player had completed the quest, they would be in the same or adjacent space to the corpse. So the space with the corpse should be the space you count from. Or so it would seem to me.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls